My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Quiet Solo Pursuits

I am breaking down and starting a blog, since every one else is already been there and done that. For the most part this blog will be about my journeys into the great out doors, mostly in Michigan, but I hope a few other locations as well as time goes by. I am in the planning stages for a fishing trip to the Bighorn Mountains in Wyoming, hopefully I will be able to pull it off in the next year or two.  

I have chosen the name, Quiet Solo Pursuits, because most of my excursions are me by myself. Not all, I do kayak with others some of the time, but most of my fishing and hiking excursions are by myself. I am not the easiest person in the world to get along with, and I prefer to go solo rather than “spoil” a great day afield putting up with some one that doesn’t see things my way. That may sound harsh, but there is nothing worse than listening to some one whine because their feet hurt after only a couple of miles, or the weather isn’t perfect, or what ever reason people find to whine about. I am out and about all year round, although less in the summer when it is extremely hot. The picture used as the header for this page was taken on the beach at Saugatuck on a day when the high was around 15 degrees, and the wind was blowing with gusts over 30 MPH. I don’t find many people willing to take a stroll on the beach on days like that, but that’s my kind of weather!   

I have my own set of rules and standards of conduct when I am in the great outdoors, I am not saying mine are right and every one else’s are wrong, it is that these are the rules that suit me. You are free to take them or leave them as you will. As I go along with these posts, you will get an idea of what my rules and standards are. I guess the best way to give you an idea here is to relate a story an ex-girlfriend told me. She was camping with some other people, and was up early chattering away in the manner she is prone to, when one of her friends, who was also up early, turned to her and said, “Could you please shut up. You’re fucking with my serenity”. She must have understood what the guy meant, as she and I had many a grand adventure in our time together. We got along great out doors, it was indoors where the trouble between us started.  

My old fishing buddy, Spud, used to tell people who made too much noise that they were “ruining his wilderness experience”. I think Spud and I got along so well because we were both raised in families that took their hunting seriously, his even more than mine. His uncles hunted to put food on the family table during the Great Depression, if they weren’t successful, they didn’t eat. He was just as serious about fishing too, but I have to admit that 4 or 5 hours without even a hit will find me pulling rocks out of the river to check the aquatic insects clinging to them, or looking for good subjects to photograph.  

The woods are my place of serenity, where I seek my wilderness adventures. Not that I wouldn’t talk if some one were around, but quiet is the rule. I was raised as a hunter, and although I no longer hunt to kill, I still conduct myself in the woods as a hunter. Moving slowly and quietly in order not to spook the critters around me. I hunt with a camera now, and when I figure this service out a little better, I will share the pictures I take with any one who cares to read this.   

A swan on the Jordan River

 

 You don’t capture moments like this if you are romping along the riverbank making a lot of noise.

One response

  1. nancy

    love this….looking forward to more, jerry! a man who knows himself and what he likes, and willing/able to enjoy the same…. well, not much more can be said. God is awesome and His works/creations are unbeatable! And someone who can capture nature’s beaty like you do, is greatly admired!

    August 4, 2010 at 10:25 am