My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

More birds, bugs, bunnies, and blooms

Not much going on around here lately, I have been taking my daily walk around the apartment complex, but that’s it. No great trips taken. I did get an interesting offer I wish I could accept, a trip to the Black Hills to do some photography. I was offered a place to stay, a guide, and a horse available for excursions in the Black Hills. I wish I could accept the trip, but unless I quit my job and sell everything I own other than my cameras, I won’t be able to do it.

It’s funny, when I was younger, I always had money saved up when something like that presented itself, and I would quit my job, and go exploring for a few months until my money started running low, then find a new job and begin saving until the next trip came along. It goes with something a friend posted online about how you should live your life, it didn’t use the term free spirit, but that’s want it added up to. I have always been that, a free spirit driven to live life for the adventures rather than chasing money or being stuck in the rat race of 9 to 5 forever.

Now that I am older, I have more things, but I miss having the ability to pack up on a moment’s notice and head for parts unknown. Maybe in a few years, I’ll be able to do those things again, if the economy improves and I find a better job for now.

Anyway, here are a few of the pictures I have taken in the last week. Nothing really outstanding, but some really good ones, like this bumblebee feeding on a thistle flower.

Bumblebee on a thistle flower

Then there’s this action shot of a house wren pouncing on a moth that wasn’t paying attention and landed on a branch very near where the wren was. I’m sorry it is blurred, but it was taken in deep shade in the woods.

House wren with moth

The wrens have made their nest in an abandoned woodpecker hole nearby, I couldn’t get back to it in time to capture the adult feeding the moth to its young, but here’s a shot of one of the young wrens waiting for the next meal to be delivered.

Young house wren waiting for lunch

And while I am on birds, here’s one of a female red-winged blackbird.

Female redwinged blackbird

They are rather plain and dull, so how about a monarch butterfly to get some color back here?

Monarch butterfly

Or, how about this one, which I believe is a spicebush swallowtail, although I am not positive. This one doesn’t have the swallowtail or the orange as the last one did. Correction…it is a red spotted purple butterfly. Once again, my brother has come up with the correct identification.

Red spotted purple butterfly

It sure is blue though.

A friend has complained that all lately, almost all of the pictures I have taken have been close-ups, well, that’s about all there is to shoot around here. Besides, I like playing with the macro setting of my camera and taking pictures like this one of sumac flowering.

Sumac flowers

It puts a whole new perspective on the world around here, like this one of tree moss.

Tree moss

It kind of reminds me of pictures I have seen of rugged forested countries like New Zealand. There’s a place I would love to go, New Zealand. Some years ago on a trip out west, a buddy and I stopped in at the most authentic looking cowboy bar we saw, and there were two other people in the place. Turns out they were from New Zealand, they were looking for the “real” west too. We ended up spending hours talking about New Zealand and all the wonderful sights there are to see there. I had wanted to go before I met the guys from there, meeting them only made the wanting worse. Maybe someday.

In the meantime, I’ll have to settle for Michigan, which does have its share of the beauty in the world. Like our wildflowers. I can’t identify them, and many are small, but if you look closely, this is what you’ll see.

Orange wildflower in the rain

You can see the “trumpet” doesn’t grow at the end of the stem, the flower grows from the stem so that the stem is towards the front of the trumpet, and the end of the trumpet curls at the end.

orange wildflower

orange wildflower

They may be small, but they are beautiful!

Small orange wildflower

Then, there are these yellow ones that I love!

Small yellow wildflowers

Or these white flowers.

Small white wildflowers

Or these pink ones.

Small pink wildflowers

And our dragon flies come in a wide array of colors as well. There are green ones.

Green dragon fly

Blue ones with clear wings and a green face.

Blue dragon fly with a green face

Blue ones with barred wings and a black face.

Blue dragon fly with barred wings and a black face.

Brown ones with orange wings.

Brown dragon fly with orange wings

That’s sort of the better of the two pictures that I have of that kind. I was all set to take a picture and was squeezing the shutter release for this picture, when a puff of wind moved this one enough to ruin the shot.

Brown dragon fly with orange wings

The light is better in the second one, too bad the wind messed it up. Of course the dragon-fly moved after the messed up shot, and I couldn’t get the same lighting for the other shot.

We have red ones.

Red dragon fly

Enough bugs? How about a bunny? I feel like Alice in Wonderland in a way, I have been chasing this white rabbit for several months trying to get a really good picture. I see it every ow and then, but the one time I was close to it for a really good shot, my camera was set to macro to shoot butterfly pictures if I remember right, and while I was changing the setting, the white rabbit ran off.

A white cottontail rabbit

It looks like a regular cottontail rabbit, but mostly white. But, it isn’t an albino, maybe it is a mixed breed, but I don’t think it is.

I think I’ll end this with another flower.

Small yellow wildflower

As nice as it is where I live, I sure wish I could go to the Black hills. I am getting cabin fever in the middle of summer. Between the heat and no money, I’ve been stuck at home most of the summer. I think I’ll head on over to Lake Michigan tomorrow, just to go some place different for a day. I am supposed to go kayaking next weekend as well, that will help, maybe. Let’s see, kayaking the Looking Glass River or a photo excursion to the Black Hills? I’ll have to console myself by thinking that the Black Hills are much better in the spring than late summer or fall, yeah, right.

4 responses

  1. Great photos! I think we’re all free spirits. Some just get it taken away sooner than others. Some people refuse to lose it, and I guess this explains Madonna. I kid, and she’s a cool icon. Anyway, these are very nice! Good job.

    August 6, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    • Thank you! Basically, I think you’re right about free spirits, but I have known a couple of people who have no free spirit in them at all, and I think they are even a little afraid to let their spirits wander at all. I have the opposite problem…LOL. Loved your photos as well, btw.

      August 6, 2011 at 5:39 pm

  2. Nice Site!!

    August 6, 2011 at 5:55 pm

    • Thank you, just getting started it seems.

      August 6, 2011 at 5:58 pm