My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

It’s been a good week

I’ve had a pretty good week, all things considered. I was able to get quite a few good photos, which I will share in a minute here. The weather has been pleasant, with temperatures near normal, and most of the rain has been at night. The only downside to my week was at work, I won’t bore you with the details. But, I am going to have to get serious about my search for a new job, so I may not be able to post here as often.

OK, now for the pictures, what would you like to see first? Some flowers? Here goes.

I believe this is soapwort

Then we have a daylily.

Daylily

And another daylily, but taken on a different morning, after a rain the night before.

Daylily

After taking that one, I tried moving the leaf from in front of the flower, and for some reason, it doesn’t look nearly as good, so I won’t post it, but that’s what I get for fooling with Mother Nature!

Then there was this beautiful little yellow flower that I don’t know the name of.

Small yellow wildflower

And I took this one Sunday evening very near sunset. The flowers are very pretty, I wish they showed up better for you. I used the flash or I wouldn’t have gotten anything, but the flower was growing in a swamp, and I couldn’t get any closer without wading through muck.

A blue swamp flower of some type.

You may or may not find the next few to be interesting, they are the flowers and seed heads from grasses.

Grass flower

It seems as if they photograph the best with some backlighting.

Grass flower

And of course I had to play.

Grass flower

There are two, almost in line with each other, and this is the result when I focused on the one in the background, rather than the one in the foreground.

Grass flower

I am not sure if I like the last one or not, I keep flipping back and forth on that one. Anyway, here are some small white flowers.

Small white wildflowers

These are extremely tiny little flowers that are growing near one of the creeks here.

Tiny wildflowers

I have been trying for a better shot, but they don’t last very long, and I am finding them hard to photograph. So we’ll move on to something easy to photograph, a black-eyed susan.

Black eyed susan

And another.

Black eyed susans

This smaller yellow wildflower was growing in amongst the black-eyed susans, but I don’t know what they are.

Small yellow wildflower with a red center

And these white flowers with a yellow center.

Small white wildflower with a yellow center

Then there were these tiny white flowers.

Tiny white wildflowers

And the thistles are still blooming, and still attracting bumblebees.

Thistle with bumblebee

And finally, these orange flowers that grow in the shade.

Orange shade loving wildflowers

That’s all I have time for today, sorry. I didn’t get to the pictures of whitetail deer, cottontail rabbits, a cicada emerging from its nymphal shell, dragonfly eating a mosquito, or any of the other cool pictures I took this last week, I guess they will have to wait.

4 responses

  1. i love the third photo from the top. The dewdrops really add a new level.

    August 22, 2011 at 7:58 pm

    • Thank you. Pros have been known to carry a spray bottle of glycerine around with them to get that effect. I just get up early.

      August 23, 2011 at 1:15 am

  2. oh really? iiiinteresting. i might try that and not wake up early lol

    August 23, 2011 at 1:31 am

  3. Pingback: It’s been a good week, the cute and cuddly « Quietsolopursuits's Blog