My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Explosions in white, Virgin’s Bower

I don’t typically devote an entire post to just one species of flowers, I normally do posts on a particular hike, kayak trip, or other excursion, but this one may be the start of a new trend, I’m not sure yet. One blog that I read as soon as there is a new post is Seasons Flow, I love it, and learn something new with almost every post.  Tracy, who writes that blog usually picks a subject and goes into detail about it, much more so than I do. I like their style, but that isn’t the real motivation for this post.

All this week, I have been posting photos that I took last week, when we had an excellent week for photography. Pleasant temps, and bright blue sunny skies for the most part. I have been going through the last of them, deciding whether or not to do another post with them. I have a good number of all one species of wildflower, Virgin’s Bower or clematis virginiana as it is known scientifically. I couldn’t decide which ones to post, so I thought what the heck, I’ll do a post of nothing but them, so here goes.

Virgin's Bower

I was able to identify it online. It is a vine that is native to most of the eastern United States.

Virgin's Bower or clematis virginiana

There isn’t anything particularly special about this plant, other than the abundance of flowers it produces.

Virgin's Bower or clematis virginiana

Each flower is about an inch across, with four petals.

Virgin's Bower or clematis virginiana

Even though it is a vine that may grow up to 20 feet in length, it is part of the buttercup family.

Virgin's Bower or clematis virginiana

I liken each flower to the explosion of fireworks going off, the way the parts of the flower radiate out from the center.

Virgin's Bower or clematis virginiana

Maybe it is because I find fewer flowers blooming with each passing day as summer begins to fade into autumn.

Virgin's Bower or clematis virginiana

But, I love these flowers, even though the vines they grow on are a real pain to walk through. The vines are tough and seem to wrap around my ankles when I try walking through them.

Virgin's Bower or clematis virginiana

The flowers sure are pretty though.

Virgin's Bower or clematis virginiana

Even when they lose their petals, or have bees feeding on them.

Virgin's Bower or clematis virginiana

Just a couple more.

Virgin's Bower or clematis virginiana

Late afternoon photos.

Virgin's Bower or clematis virginiana

And one more to make an even dozen.

Virgin's Bower

That’s all folks, for now, anyway. I still have more photos left from last week, along with a few from this week, guess there will be another post soon.

2 responses

  1. Great shots of the Virgin’s Bower! I’ve seen some of this plant too, but none were quite as photogenic as these 🙂 Thanks for the shout-out, too!

    September 5, 2011 at 7:15 pm

    • I lucked out on the photos. I had seen the flowers a couple of days before, but the lighting was really bad and I have learned that fill in flash usually doesn’t ork well with white or pale yellow flowers, so I vowed to go back. But, I forgot where I had seen them for a day or two, and when I did remember where they were, the lighting was perfect. I love your blog, you’ll probably get a few more shout outs in the future!

      September 5, 2011 at 11:45 pm