My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

The Big (photo) Dump, Cold-blooded Critters

Another post that may not be for every one, this one will be photos of snakes, turtles, and a frog, but since most people think Kermit the Frog is cute, I’ll start with one of his distant relatives, this bullfrog. After that, it will get worse if you’re not into cold-blooded critters.

Bullfrog

Just in case you haven’t been able to switch pages quickly enough, the next one will be of a Painted Turtle.

Painted Turtle

Another one.

Painted Turtle

A view from farther back.

Painted Turtle

You were warned! Here come the snakes!

Common Garter Snake

This is another Common Garter Snake.

Common Garter Snake

This was the most aggressive garter snake I have ever run into. It struck towards me before I even got close to it, good thing my camera zooms in.

Common Garter Snake

It really zooms in.

Common Garter Snake

Then there was this one.

Fox Squirrel

I know, that’s not a snake, I had to put one warm and fuzzy picture in here. Thanks for stopping by, until next time.

5 responses

  1. The head on version of the garter snake was my favorite. Amazing how different the coloration is from the garter snakes we have out here in California. Completely different species by the looks of it

    September 10, 2011 at 6:22 pm

    • Thank you for the comment! The two snakes in the photos are the same species, and it is hard to tell here, I can imagine the variations by the time one gets to California.

      September 10, 2011 at 7:44 pm

  2. I love taking pics of snakes–when they present themselves–but still get queasy at the thought of touching them. And they can be scary when they appear unexpectedly. I like how you photographed the loops on the garter snake.

    September 11, 2011 at 8:25 am

    • Thanks for taking the time to stop by and leave a comment. Snakes aren’t so bad to handle, they don’t feel like what we think they would feel like. But, they almost always startle me when hiking. I can see small insects on the trail ahead of me, but I never see the snakes until they are moving out from under my feet before I step on them by accident, then I do my little snake dance to avoid them.

      September 11, 2011 at 9:36 am

  3. stick vacuum reviews

    I actually like the aerial view of the garter snake. The coloration is amazing. From what I know of gartner snakes, they’re relatively harmless, but I can’t say I wouldn’t be a little spooked to see one of them out in the woods.

    November 7, 2011 at 10:42 pm