My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

The Big (photo) Dump, The Birds

I have quite a few pictures saved that I have intended to post here that I haven’t gotten around to posting yet. I am going to do a number of posts of nothing but these photos so I can clear out the folder to make room for more. 🙂 They aren’t all great, but I think they are all interesting enough that some people will like them. I am going to start with photos of birds for this one, and I’ll kick things off with these pics of a young male cardinal.

A young male cardinal

He’s pretty shabby looking right now.

A young male cardinal

But by next year, he’ll look like his dad.

Male Cardinal

Then there are these taken as I was stalking the stalker, a great blue heron.

Great blue heron

It’s kind of hard to see.

Great blue heron

A little better after I zoomed out. I love it when I get so close I can zoom out.

Great blue heron

And finally, into the clear.

Great blue heron

Within five feet of a great blue heron, of course it didn’t stick around long. But here’s a distant cousin, a little green heron.

Little Green Heron

Getting lower….

Little Green Heron

And lower.

Little Green Heron

What ever it was stalking must have moved away, because the heron did too, but I got two more shots first.

Little Green Heron

That’s when it saw me.

Little Green Heron

And it was gone. Here’s a shot of the trumpeter swans I forgot to add to my previous post.

Trumpeter swans

Here’s one of a flock of Canadian Geese.

Canadian Geese

And to end it, a shot of a turkey vulture in flight.

Turkey Vulture

That’s it for the birds.

One response

  1. Pingback: Stalking the stalker « Quietsolopursuits's Blog