My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

The Big (photo) Dump, the bugs

I am continuing to clean out the folder I have of photos that I have taken the past few weeks on my hikes, either around home or while I was in the Pigeon River Country over Labor Day weekend. This one will be all insects, so if you’re squeamish about bugs, please move on to the next one. 😉

I’ll start with a dragonfly, nothing special, but I did line up an orange flower in the background so it showed through the dragonfly’s wing.

Dragonfly

Then a butterfly that perched on my kayak rack.

Butterfly

And a bad shot of a beautiful butterfly on virgin’s Bower.

Bad shot of a beautiful butterfly

I really wanted a better shot of this one, but it didn’t stick around. So here are a few of a preying mantis that “attacked” me one night.

Preying mantis

It was huge, the largest I’ve ever seen I think.

Preying mantis

I wasn’t hiking when I took these, it was as I was coming home from work and just happened to have a camera with me.

Preying mantis

It was hard to see in the dark until the flash fired.

Preying mantis

Next up are three of a grey moth that I saw on the side of a maple tree.

Grey moth

The only reason I noticed it was because the color pattern of its wings were a mirror image of each other.

Grey moth

It shows up a little better in these last two.

Grey moth

Then there was this caterpillar.

A caterpillar with a lot going on.

With al the tufts and colors, it was hard finding the right angle to shoot it at.

A caterpillar with a lot going on.

One more.

A caterpillar with a lot going on.

Then it’s back to dragonflies, like this green one.

Green dragonfly

And this blue one.

Blue dragonfly with green eyes

And then this brown one, I love the way the colors play on its wings.

Brown dragonfly

How about a fuzzy orange caterpillar?

Fuzzy orange caterpillar

But where’s its head?

Fuzzy orange caterpillar

You can just make out its head in that one. Back to a dragonfly again.

Green dragonfly

They seem to come in a never-ending combination of colors.

Green dragonfly

And here we have a ….. I’m not sure what it is.

Beetles

Is it a flock of beetles?, no, that’s not it, gaggle of beetles?, no, that’s not it either, I guess you just call it a mass of beetles. Then there was this thing, I have no idea what it is, it looks like it escaped from the set of the old Star Trek TV show.

Strange green insect

It must have been from outer space, my camera would not focus in on it.

Strange green insect

It must have had its anti-focus force-field up.

I’ll finish up with a more normal caterpillar.

Fuzzy brown caterpillar

That’s it for the bugs, I can hear the large sigh of relief coming from a few of you out there. That reminds me, I need to say thanks to every one who takes the time to read these escapes from reality of mine.

2 responses

  1. Kathie Kjar

    I think your “beetles” are boxelder bugs. They start orange and devlop their black patches, at any rate they are true bugs, in the Hemiptera family not Coleoptera..

    January 7, 2014 at 9:20 pm

    • Thank you for the comment and the information!

      January 8, 2014 at 1:58 am