My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

The Big (photo) Dump, the leftovers

These are a few of the pictures I have leftover from my trip to the Pigeon River Country and beyond over the Labor Day weekend. I’ll start with a couple of the new Presque Isle lighthouse tower.

The new Presque Isle Lighthouse

It’s the tallest lighthouse on Lake Huron. I don’t know who the guy up there is, but it gives you some idea how big the tower is.

The new Presque Isle Lighthouse

I’ll bet it looks even taller from where he’s standing. 😉

Next up, a shot through the trees of the surrounding country taken while driving in the rain.

Pigeon River Country

The only reason I included it is that the small opening in the trees along the road is one of the few times you get any kind of sense of the scale of the place, and the hills. It isn’t rugged country, it is over 100 square miles of forested rolling hills cut by three deep and wide river valleys. The area is also peppered with sinkholes, some that fill with water, like Lost Lake.

Lost Lake in the Pigeon River Country

Darn trees again, blocking my view of the green water in the lake.

Lost Lake in the Pigeon River Country

Then there are the swamps and marshes. There is a difference between the two, swamps are flooded forests, and marshes are flooded fields. In the PRC, some of the marshes were at one time forests, until the beavers dammed small streams to create beaver ponds. The trees that were there have died from being flooded and underwater all the time, leaving a marsh like this one.

A marsh in the Pigeon River Country

Eventually the beaver pond fills in with sediment, the beavers move on, leaving the marsh to the wildflowers.

A marsh in the Pigeon River Country

Most of the flowers don’t show up well in these wide shots because the flowers are so small.

A marsh in the Pigeon River Country

But I hope that gives you some idea about the area and why I love it, swamps, marshes and all.

Osmun Lake in the Pigeon River Country

That’s Osmun Lake, one of several man-made lakes in the area from the logging days.

The 40 Mile Point Lighthouse

That’s the 40 Mile Point Lighthouse, it has been fully restored and is now a museum.

The wreck of the Joseph S. Fay

That’s the wreck of the Joseph S. Fay that you can find at the 40 Mile Point Lighthouse Park on the shores of Lake Huron.

Those are far from the end of the pictures I took that weekend, but I’ll be going back and getting better ones, so I will leave it where it is for now. Thanks for stopping by!

2 responses

  1. I love your adventures take me to places that I would chose to do myself. And you camp as well ! Awesome!

    December 22, 2012 at 4:36 pm

    • Thank you! Yes, I camp, there’s no better way to get back to nature in my opinion.

      December 22, 2012 at 5:28 pm