My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

The Big (photo) Dump, the wildflowers

OK, I have saved the best for last, the flowers. Mostly wildflowers, although I think a few are “escapees” from cultivation in previous years. Not all the photos are great, but they’re good enough for me to post here. Actually, the first one isn’t a photo of a flower, it is of the seed clusters of Virgin’s Bower after it blooms.

The seed clusters from Virgin's Bower after it blooms.

I wish I had a better photo, the seed clusters are almost as pretty as the flowers. That one was taken just before dark while I was looking for elk.

Calico aster?

I can’t identify most of these, if you can, I would appreciate the help!

Thistle

Any help at all.

White wildflowers

How did that butterfly get in there, it belongs in the bug post.

fringed gentian

I think these are fringed gentian, I found them while walking along in a coastal marsh while checking to see if I could put my kayak in there.

fringed gentian

The coastal marshes I found along Lake Huron were full of these.

fringed gentian

And these.

Blue wetlands wildflowers

These were found growing along side of the roads back in the woods in several places.

Purple wildflowers

Another.

Purple wildflowers

The first photo was taken with my Nikon, the second with my Canon.

Small yellow wildflowers

Another.

Small yellow wildflower

And these purple flowers grow all over.

Small purple wildflowers

Are they purple? Or are they blue?

These are hostas that have escaped.

Hosta

Another

Hosta

This is a water lily.

Water lily

And there are several species of yellow wildflowers growing near the creeks here.

Yellow wildflower

I assume they are related to daisy’s and black eyed susans, but I am not positive.

Yellow wildflower

And another.

Yellow wildflower

One more.

Yellow wildflower

If I had seen the bee flying into the frame, I would have gotten all of it, drat!

Then there are these tiny blue flowers.

Blue wildflowers

Then we have these snapdragons that are escapees as well.

Pink snapdragons

Another.

Pink snapdragons

And again.

Pink snapdragons

Well, that’s it! I have cleaned out my working folder now, and I am ready to start adding new pictures to it as I go walking everyday. As always, thanks for stopping by!

Comments are closed.