My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Help! I’ve been drafted!

No, I didn’t receive a letter from my Uncle Sam inviting me to join one of the armed services, I have started a half-dozen new posts and several new pages, all saved as drafts. So I thought I would knock out a quicky of photographs, just so I can remember where the “Publish” button is.

The posts that I have started deal with serious environmental issues, and few people read them, so there is no need to hurry as far as finishing them. But I have been in a serious mood for the last month or so, maybe it is because of the arrival of fall.

I know, fall doesn’t officially arrive for a couple more days, maybe some one should tell nature that. The swallows have been gone for a month, the red-winged blackbirds left soon after, and one by one, the species of summer bird residents have left for their winter homes south of here. There are still the migrating birds passing through the area, here today, gone tomorrow. The flocks of geese, cranes, and herons grow larger every day, and soon, most of them will depart as well.

The trees are well on their way to turning color for autumn, I am getting a bad feeling that this year’s fall foliage is going to be some what muted. A lot of trees are already turning brown or losing their leaves, not a good sign.

Fallen maple leaf

I hope to make a trip up to East Jordan, Michigan to shoot pictures of the Jordan River Valley at the peak of the autumn colors, but I don’t know if I will be able to afford it, which has me bummed.

I am also bummed because I have a love/hate relationship with fall. I love the colors, the crisp, cool mornings, and the fact that the skeeters and biting flies are gone for another 6 months.

I like winters here, except for two things, the trees are mostly bare, and it will cloud up sometime in mid November, and stay cloudy until next March. You can normally count the sunny days in winters here on your fingers, some years on just one hand. Our summers are too short, heck, the years are too short at my age, which is another thing that has me bummed.

It seems as if this summer flew by, in part because I didn’t do much, I couldn’t afford it. I love shooting pictures of wildflowers and insects.

Tiny blue wildflowers

Yellow butterfly

But they are about gone for another year. I’m not ready for them to be gone yet!

Yellow wildflowers

We had an early frost this week that about finished off the last of the flowers.

Yellow day lily

There are only a few flowers left.

White wildflowers found in a wetlands area

These won’t be back until next fall.

Blue wildflowers

The leaves turning bright colors help.

Sumac leaves turning red

But they will fall sooner than I would like.

Dew on a fallen maple leaf

Even the critters are preparing for winter.

Muskrat

The muskrats are gathering grass to insulate their dens.

Muskrat

And the squirrels are busy collecting nuts for the winter.

Fox squirrel

Although they do take a break from time to time.

Fox squirrel

And there are still a few great blue herons around.

Great blue heron

And a few hardy flowers holding on.

Small red flowers

I am still hoping that the last of the Virgin’s Bower….

Virgin's Bower

….makes it to the seed cluster stage so I can get some truly good photos, rather than the so-so one I posted a while back, but I’m not sure they will hold out that long.

There are other things bumming me out right now as well. One is my job search, there aren’t many good jobs available. The other is how rude people are these days. Last week I had some ass start honking his horn and cussing me out through his window because I slowed down to the speed limit while driving past a young mother pushing a baby in a stroller, while her toddler walked next to her. I’m sorry Mr. Ass, but I am not going to be responsible for killing a child if it darts into the street, or trips into the street. If you can’t leave home on time to drive like a sane person, then screw you!!!!!!!!!

That sort of goes with another crusade I have begun, I am no longer going to pay for shoddy products or services. I am dumping my Verizon wireless Internet service, it is slower than a sedated snail, when it does work. My contract is up the end of this month, but Verizon doesn’t want to end the contract. That’s funny, they have no problem rewriting the contract that’s in effect when it suits them. I may end up switching to another carrier for everything, including cell phone.

Then there is my old car insurance company. I made a payment through their website, the money was taken out of my account, but, the company cancelled me without notice for non-payment. Ha! I switched to another company, now the first one is trying to collect a fee from me for cancelling a policy they had already cancelled. Fat chance! That left me seeing red!

Red leaf with back lighting from the sun

Maybe I should cool down a little.

Yellow maple leaf

Didn’t work, I’m still seeing red.

Red maple leaf

Just kidding.

There are a few more reasons I haven’t posted lately, I am still cleaning and packing up stuff for the winter, for one. For another, I’ve got too many irons in the fire right now. I have started pages for photography, kayaking, and breaking down the Lake Huron shoreline into individual trips. That last one is a tough one, as I work on it, I want to drop everything and head back up there!

It’s dawned on me, about the only autumn foliage photos I’ve posted here are of fallen leaves, I guess I had better post at least one more picture of leaves still on a tree.

Maple tree turning red

That’s it for now. Sorry for the rants, but thank you for stopping by to read this.

3 responses

  1. Gosh, where to start. First I am glad I subscribed to your blog as I can see now, with this post of yours I am going to enjoy it.
    You have some wonderful pictures that of course, bring back my memories of living there. I got a kick out of the muskrat photo. Haven’t seen one of those in years. But we have our share of water rodents down here.
    One thing that I don’t miss about Michigan, is the rude people that you mentioned. When we do visit there, that is the main thing that my wife and I notice the most. Out here in west Texas, everybody makes eye contact, waves whether you know the person or not. Of course, we also have the bad apples, but not too many.
    You said you have short summers. and long winters. I remember them, and that was one reason we decided to transplant many years ago. Our summers are very long, and sometimes like this one, very hot. Our winters are short, at times very short and nearly non-existant. Like last year, I think winter fell on a Thursday. 🙂
    Oh yes, the skeeters. Thankfully we have nearly zero here in my part of the state. It is semi-arid desert country . One of our trips to Michigan, we made the mistake of staying in some cabin near Interlochen, right on a river. We got ate up with them.
    Well, that’s it for now. Thanks for listening. 🙂

    September 22, 2011 at 2:23 pm

  2. I really like the first maple leaf photo. It is the star of the show, and it knows it, and it is front and center, and with the green around it. Very nice. Love the animal shots too! Thanks for sharing!

    September 28, 2011 at 2:02 pm

    • Thank you. Much more to come.

      September 29, 2011 at 10:32 am