My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

The first full day of fall

Yesterday was the first day of fall, I have already forgotten the exact time it arrived, like it makes a difference. Notes on a calendar don’t mean much to nature, the transition to fall has been going on for over a month, and autumn will continue to push summer aside, a little at a time.

Autumn leaves starting to turn color

Fall seems like more of a transition from one year to the next to me, much more so than the New Years Day when our calendars say that it happens. Fall is when one year dies, and most of nature goes into its resting stage over our long, cold, snowy winters here in Michigan. So I am always a little sad when fall does arrive, to me, it signifies the passing of another year.

Some of that is old age talking. I swear that each year is at least a month shorter than the year before, even though the calendars I get in the mail say that there are still 12 months, and they are all the same length they have always been. As soon as I figure out where those months are disappearing to, I’ll be sure to let every one know. 😉

Fall is also the season of spectacular beauty, when nature pulls out all the stops in vivid displays of color unlike any of the other seasons.

Fall maple

Not to mention there are no biting bugs left to bother me while I am hiking or kayaking.

Autumn colors

Some trees seem to turn all one color…

Fall maple

…while other trees seem bent on having every leaf a different color.

Fall maple

They’re all beautiful on a sunny autumn day.

Blue sky, red leaves

From the time they begin to change…

Burning bush

…to when most have changed….

Fall foliage

…until they fall.

Maple leaf

From either the bottom…

Fall foliage

…or the top

Fall foliage

Enjoy.

Fall foliage

This display of color is our reward for sticking it out in an area where winters are so long.

Fall foliage

Fall foliage

And fall is just getting started. It will be several weeks before we get the full display of color that happens most years. I say most years, because once in a while a storm will blow through just as the trees are near their peak, and all the leaves will be blown off from the trees. I hope that doesn’t happen this year.

5 responses

  1. I really love that first shot. So very pretty! Thanks for sharing!

    September 24, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    • Thank you for stopping by, and leaving a comment!

      September 24, 2011 at 5:25 pm

  2. Pingback: A day in the life « Quietsolopursuits's Blog

  3. My favorite time of year! I like how a branch might be very colorful while the rest of the tree is green. Some autumns are better than others, let’s hope for a spectacular one this time around!

    September 26, 2011 at 6:05 pm

    • The reports I’ve read say this is supposed to be a great year for fall colors, I’m not so sure. Last year was excellent, but the days I had off to photograph the colors weren’t the best.

      September 27, 2011 at 2:25 am