My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Honoring the fallen (Leaves)

I hope no one takes offense at my title for this post, as the son of some one who served in the Air Force, and the brother of a retired Airman, I don’t mean to make light of the sacrifices members of the armed services have made. This post is photos of fallen leaves. “Why?”, you may ask. Well, we’ve had two weeks of crappy weather as far as photography is concerned. There has been a cut-off low over Michigan for what seems like forever, with cloudy skies most of the time, and rain showers on and off the entire time. I can’t remember the last day it was that I got in an entire hike without getting rained on at least a little. That, and it is still early in the fall for the peak of the fall foliage.

This is also a post that I am going to whip out while I still have Internet access at home. Sunday, October 3rd is the last day of my poor Verizon Wireless Internet Access, I refuse to pay $60 per month for slow, unreliable service. So I am going to do several posts now, save them as drafts, then publish them when I get to a wi-fi hotspot from time to time.

Here goes, the pictures are self-explanatory, mostly fallen maple leaves that I found on the ground that were too colorful to pass by without capturing their beauty.

Fallen maple leaf

Fallen maple leaf

Fallen maple leaf

Fallen maple leaf

Fallen maple leaf

Fallen maple leaf

Fallen maple leaf

Fallen maple leaf

You can see that many of the leaves were wet from all the rainy days we’ve had. We didn’t get a lot of rain as far as the overall amount, but it rained lightly on and off for almost two full weeks. At least the creeks and ponds are filling up a little.

Floating leaves

Floating leaves

I know, they’re not great photos, but this is the type of weather we’ve been having around here.

fall storm

A small hole opened up in the clouds, just enough to make that shot possible. But, back to the fallen, even the maple seeds are getting into the act.

Maple seeds

Sometimes I took “group” shots.

Fallen leaves

Fallen leaves

Fallen leaves

And finally, my favorite one.

Fallen maple leaf

It’s hard to believe that nature can pack that many colors into one lone leaf! To prove that I could play with digital image manipulation like most photographers, I did this to it.

Digitally altered maple leaf

I much prefer the subtle, delicate beauty of the real thing, and I’ll have more to say about that in some upcoming posts.

As always, thanks for stopping by and taking the time to read my blog!

6 responses

  1. There is one good thing about wet weather, it sure literally saturates the colors. Great shots!

    October 1, 2011 at 1:33 pm

    • Thank you, that means a lot coming from you. A little sunlight to brighten up those saturated colors would have been nice too.

      October 1, 2011 at 4:03 pm

  2. Nilesh

    Nice one..thought of sharing a pic of mine

    October 2, 2011 at 3:53 pm

    • Thanks for stopping by and sharing your photo, very nice!

      October 2, 2011 at 4:23 pm

  3. Man, I’ve been under that same weather system, and it’s getting old. I’m used to being out hiking with a camera, and the rain and clouds have hampered a lot of activity.

    Maples are very colorful this time of year, thanks for the shots!

    October 3, 2011 at 2:27 pm

    • I hope our clear weather now has made it your way. There’s hardly been a cloud in the sky since Sunday!

      October 4, 2011 at 2:49 pm