My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

One more quick one, going deer hunting, care to join me?

I am losing my Internet service, if that’s what you want to call it, at midnight. I have several posts in the can, ready to publish over the next few days, even though I have been fighting with my Internet connection all day, which is why I am cancelling it. However, I thought I would do a quick post with some photos from today’s deer “hunt”, care to join me?

The first photo is a maple leaf floating on a creek.

Maple leaf floating on a creek

I love the way the reflection of the clouds overhead turn this one into something special.

Next up, a black-capped chickadee.

Black capped chickadee

I had an even better shot all lined up earlier, but the chickadee flew off as I was pressing the shutter, darn!

Not a nature photo, unless you look at the trees in the background. It’s a model airplane some guys were flying in the park today.

Model airplane in flight

Practicing shooting moving targets again. 🙂

Here’s how you spot deer to stalk.

Whitetail deer hiding behind a fallen tree

That was zoomed in to 300 mm! I only saw the deer because it was twitching its ears.

The result of the first stalk.

Whitetail doe

Another.

Whitetail doe chewing

More light would have been nice, I was shooting at around 1/30 of a second with a handheld 300 mm lens, they don’t call me the human tripod for nothing. You can see her body is sharp, it was her moving her head as she chewed that made her head turn out blurry.

Here she is with one of her two fawns.

Whitetail doe and fawn

The fawn is a button buck. You can just make out the knobs on its head that will be where his antlers start growing next summer. Here’s a better view as he strips a bud from a bush.

Whitetail button buck

And here’s the doe’s other fawn, another button buck! That’s unusual, most twin fawns are one each male and female, this doe gave birth to two bucks.

Whitetail button buck

Here’s another doe.

Whitetail doe

You can see I was close enough to use the flash for these. Here’s her fawn, a doe.

Whitetail fawn

One more of the fawn. I forgot to shut off the flash, even though the fawn stepped into a patch of sunlight.

Whitetail fawn

Ready for some color?

Berries

I did see a whitetail buck, but all I got of it as far as photos were some really poor ones, like this.

Whitetail buck hiding

You can see its hind legs OK, and if you look along the tree in the foreground, you can see one ear and an antler. I played hide and seek with him for at least half an hour, then decided the pathetic rack he had wasn’t worth wasting daylight on, so I moved on.

I spotted this doe a little way down the trail.

Whitetail doe

And here’s one of her shaking her head like a dog.

Whitetail doe

I had seen wood ducks in flight several times this evening, never close enough to shoot though. I did get this poor shot of one male and either females or juveniles.

Wood ducks in a pond

That was all the closer I could get, they flew off right after that shot. The pond was pretty though.

Pretty pond

I did see more deer on my way back to my vehicle, but not even the human tripod can take shots at 1/2 second with a handheld camera. Well…… I can….. and I did, but they are way too blurry for me to post here. 😉  They do make for good practice holding the camera still even if the photos don’t turn out, something I would never have done in the days of film. I love digital photography! It doesn’t matter how many shots I waste, they don’t cost anything.

That wraps up today’s deer hunt. I hope you enjoyed our stroll through the woods, I know I did! Thanks for stopping by!

5 responses

  1. Great shots and stories. I enjoyed your little “deer hunt”. I hope you get back on-line soon.

    October 2, 2011 at 11:25 pm

    • Thank you. I’ll be online from time to time, using wi-fi hotspots for a while until I decide on another service provider. It sure won’t be Verizon.

      October 2, 2011 at 11:42 pm

  2. oregonoutdoordude

    Very nice!

    October 3, 2011 at 1:59 pm

  3. Sorry to hear about the internet issues, hope they can be taken care of fast. I had a problem a couple years ago that turned out to be a bad cord connecting my PC with the internet jack, and I had been blaming my ISP. Just goes to show that there’s a lot that can go wrong with these techno-gadgets!

    Nice photos- the deer population seems to be thriving in your area!

    October 3, 2011 at 2:10 pm

    • No, it’s the Verizon service itself. I can tell by my smartphone as well. There are no cords, the wireless modem plugs into a USB slot. It started out fast when I first signed up, then kept getting slower. I was going to shut it off before, but they gave me new hardware and software, the same thing. Worked good for a few months, then slowed to a crawl.

      October 4, 2011 at 2:48 pm