My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

The return of the drunken raccoon, and other critters

In an earlier post I included a picture of a drunken raccoon, and I have a few more to share with you. I saw the raccoon for the first time a few weeks ago, and now I know where it hangs out, at least when it’s snockered, so I have been looking for it everyday when I do my daily hike around the complex.

I didn’t see it again until the other day, I forget exactly when, but I saw paws sticking out of the hollow tree where I had seen the coon before.

The paws of a drunken raccoon

Since it’s a still photo, you can’t see the paws shaking, or how unsteadily the raccoon was moving its limbs as to tell me the coon was drunk again. I stood there patiently in the rain, and sure enough, the raccoon came out for some fresh air.

Drunken raccoon

He stuck his head out almost all the way long enough for me to get this one.

Drunken raccoon

Then it went back in the hollow tree. I thought about waiting for it again, but it was raining too hard to stick around for very long.

Then there was this squirrel gathering nuts.

Fox squirrel

It didn’t stick around long after it heard my camera.

Fox squirrel's tail disappearing under a pine

Oh, those were taken today, after the storm that has been stuck over the top of us for the last two weeks has finally moved off. That goes for this one too, a young herring gull.

Herring gull in flight

Herring gulls are plentiful around here, especially during the fall and winter when they move inland from Lake Michigan. I don’t normally photograph them, but the bright blue sky for the first time in weeks was too much to resist, and it made a good practice shot for shooting moving subjects. Here’s another.

Herring gull in flight

Look at that sky! There have been times during our cloudy winters, which last from November to March, that when we do get a sunny day, I have taken pictures of just blue sky to remind myself that they do happen.

I hate to, but I have to go back to the cloudy days for the next couple, starting with a great blue heron.

Great blue heron

I would have liked to have gotten closer to it, the coloring of this one seemed more pronounced than some of the others I have photographed. If it hadn’t been so windy, the reflections in the pond would have been great too.

I also found this lone horned grebe in one of the ponds here.

Horned grebe in fall plumage

Grebes are rather plain birds in the fall after the mating season is over, I’d like to find a pair here during that time of year.

I’ll finish off with a painted turtle.

Painted turtle

They are migrating too. I have seen several around here looking for a place to burrow in and spend the winter.

That’s it for now, thanks for stopping by!

6 responses

  1. northernnarratives

    Very nice photos. I like the great blue heron. It is fun to watch them.

    October 2, 2011 at 12:05 pm

    • Thank you! I think the old locomotives I was thinking about were actually in Superior WI, not Duluth itself. But, I still love the area and wish I had the time to make it back there again.

      October 2, 2011 at 1:19 pm

  2. I just love your drunken raccoon photos! I want one here. I know someone told me there is a raccoon (and a skunk family) here, so I have to go and search for the cute burglar. :). And I adore Great Blues! So wonderful to see them, as they aren’t here in Santa Fe. Love seeing water too.

    I also love how your write and describe the animals/birds, etc. in your photos. Thank you!

    October 2, 2011 at 1:03 pm

    • Thank you! I love your blog as well, and look forward to each new post.

      October 2, 2011 at 1:18 pm

  3. Great shot and great narrative to go along with them. Ya gotta love that drunk ‘coon. 🙂

    October 2, 2011 at 1:54 pm

  4. That raccoon has the sense not to drink and walk- glad it’s staying in the tree! 😉

    October 3, 2011 at 2:20 pm