My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

The last wildflower?

Everyday when I am out, I find myself taking photos of the last few wildflowers I can find, even if I took a number of photos of the same flowers the day before. It won’t be much longer, and the wildflowers will be gone for months, until next spring. Already the goldenrod is dying back, there aren’t many flowers left to photograph. Some of the ones I do find are in pretty sad shape.

A dying bloom

We’ve had several light frosts, but they are predicting a heavy freeze for tonight, that may be the end of the flowers.

I believe these are calico daisy

I’m not sure what they are, but there are a lot of them.

Daisy

They are one of the few flowers left for the bees.

Bee on a daisy

Daisy

Even the thistles are about done.

Thistles

A frost earlier this week finished off these yellow wildflowers.

Yellow wildflower

Oops, shot that one from the wrong side. Is this better?

Yellow wildflowers

Small white wildflowers

I really need a good field guide to start identifying these flowers.

More small white wildflowers

And I’ll finish off with a few more of the daisies.

Daisies

More daisies

I know that they are starting to all look the same, but this is my blog too, and these pictures are going to have to last me until spring.

Daisies

But, I’ll throw in a day lily just for variety.

Day lily

I’m afraid that’s it, not just for this post, but for the season. Oh, I found one more.

Toadstool

That’s not a flower, it’s a toadstool I found near one of the ponds, did it fool you?

Thanks for stopping by.

One response

  1. That is a great bunch of wildflowers. Ours are gone with the heat early, but we get some dandy ones in the spring. Yours are beautiful.

    October 6, 2011 at 2:48 pm