My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

No Internet, week three

The end may be in sight! I have a week’s vacation time coming, and I think I have convinced the powers that be at work to give me the pay now. That will mean that I may be back online full-time by this weekend, early next week at the latest if I get the extra check.

Both Friday and Saturday of last week, my time at the community building was limited by other people using it. Friday they used it for an employee meeting, and Saturday, people who were renting it for a party that afternoon showed up early to decorate.

I have been taking a few photos, have lots more deer pictures, I haven’t decided when or if I will post them. No zombies in this batch. I had to rush the last post, “Attack of the Zombie Deer” due to my limited time online. Sorry about that. I did manage to capture two deer grooming each other, but it was nearly dark, so the quality isn’t the greatest. What the heck.

Whitetail deer grooming each other.

I guess to make up for that one, I need to post this one.

Whitetail doe chewing her cud

On the same walk as when I took those photos, I saw hundreds, if not thousands of songbirds, some migrating, some local residents. There are times that I think trying to photograph small songbirds is a fool’s errand, at least with the equipment I have now. I took many photos, but the ones taken with my Nikon aren’t close enough for identification purposes, and I couldn’t follow the small birds in the LCD screen of my Canon. I did manage to sneak up on this wren.

Winter wren

I’m not sure if it is a house wren that are locals, or a visitor passing through during its migration. It looks too dark and it has too many stripes for a house wren, I think.

An update: A big thank you to Bob Zeller of Texas Tweeties for identifying this wren as a winter wren! Turns out that they nest just to the north of where I live in Michigan. I have seen them before, but never close enough to identify them for what they are.

I think I saw more birds on Sunday than I have ever seen in one day before!

I tried to force myself to write this weekend, that didn’t go well, needless to say. I just wasn’t in the mood to write. I know I will end up editing what I did write, it will be nice to be back online so that I can do more as the mood strikes me.

I still have photos from two weeks ago that I want to post, I hope to get them posted this week. I can’t promise anything though. I have been tied up with some other things, like work. One night both the truck and the lift truck broke down, which meant several hours of overtime. Friday, I had a safety meeting to attend, more overtime. The extra pay will be nice, but it is interfering with my blogging.

That’s it for this one, hopefully, I will be online full-time by the weekend. As always, thanks for stopping by!

5 responses

  1. I believe your wren is a Winter Wren (troglodytes hiemalis). It summers in your area, and is common there.

    October 17, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    • Thanks Bob, it is a winter wren. However, according to a couple of web sites that I checked quickly, it nests just to the north of where I live in Michigan. That explains all those funny looking wrens I see up north, but never have gotten close enough to in order to identify them before.

      October 18, 2011 at 2:06 pm

  2. I like that you were able to capture the whitetails grooming each other. It’s hard to get clear pics at that time of day. Isn’t it awful when work interferes with our blogging? LOL!

    October 18, 2011 at 7:12 pm

    • Thank you. I am finding that blogging interferes with blogging. The more popular my blog gets, the more time I spend checking out other people’s blogs and replying to them. But, it’s all fun, and I am “meeting” some very nice people.

      October 19, 2011 at 2:08 pm

  3. That’s a very cool photo of the grooming deer- never seen that before!

    Hope you’re back online soon.

    October 20, 2011 at 2:25 pm