My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Weekly Photo Challenge: Opportunity

This week’s topic for the Weekly Photo Challenge is opportunity, and the way I took the announcement is that they were looking for photos taken at the spur of the moment. To me, there are few situations that require a photographer to react quickly when an opportunity presents itself as birds in flight.

Canadian geese in flight

In fact, as you can see, I reacted a little too quickly and didn’t get all of the lead bird’s bill in the photo. I could have cropped it out of this photo, but I like the fact that I was able to get one goose with its wings on the downbeat, one with its wings level, and the last goose with its wings on the upbeat. This opportunity was too good to pass up, the geese were at close range, against a bright blue sky, and with the lighting about as good as it gets for trying to get a photo of a large bird in flight.

5 responses

  1. Thanks for what you added about the wings! Wonderful photo.

    October 22, 2011 at 5:24 pm

  2. Northern Narratives

    Great photo. It can be hard to get a photo when the birds fly.

    October 22, 2011 at 5:38 pm

    • Thank you

      October 23, 2011 at 9:21 am

  3. It’s never easy to get a good shot in flight when you are waiting and it’s even more difficult when it’s a spur of the moment opportunity. Nice capture. 🙂

    October 23, 2011 at 12:57 am

    • Thank you. I have seen the shots you have of dragonflies hovering and I am in awe, now that’s a hard shot to get!

      October 23, 2011 at 9:17 am