My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Weekly Photo Challenge: Wonder

I hard a tough time with this one, I couldn’t decide between going for a man-made wonder, or a natural wonder. If I would ever get around to having my collection of slides digitized, it would have been easy to find a natural wonder to go here from one of my trips out west. Michigan is a fantastic state, but we’re a little short on natural wonders. There’s the Pictured Rocks (on slides of course), but not much else leaps to mind.

We’re eve a bit short when it comes to man-made wonders, but I have chosen three that I think fit, two lighthouses and the sculpture of Leonardo Da Vinci’s horse at Meijer Gardens here in Grand Rapids.

First up, the Little Sable Point Lighthouse.

Little Sable Point Lighthouse

Then the Presque Isle Lighthouse, the tallest on Lake Huron.

Presque Isle Lighthouse

And finally, the cast bronze replica of Leonardo Da Vinci’s horse.

Leonardo Da Vinci's horse

Sorry, that’s the best I could come up with.

3 responses

  1. Northern Narratives

    I think lighthouses are wonders.

    November 18, 2011 at 7:56 pm

  2. I love the first lighthouse. Great POV!

    November 19, 2011 at 3:43 pm

  3. You surprised me with that horse! LOL. Good job…

    November 19, 2011 at 6:55 pm