My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Sometimes it works

This is an old post that I started but didn’t care for the way it turned out. The pictures were too good not to post, so I am going to just delete my useless ramblings and post it for the photos.

Flowers and fountain

I saw the shape of the spray from the fountain, and the shape  of the way the flowers were growing next to the pond that the fountain is in, and thought that the shapes were similar enough, that if I got everything lined up just right, it would make a great photo. The problem, it was a nasty, cloudy day with a gale blowing through our area. I could not get the flowers and the fountain lined up the way I wanted, no matter how I tried to time the gusts of wind. I’ll go back and try again, maybe I won’t like what I end up with, but I think it’s worth a try.

But, every once in a while it does turn out the way I saw it when I shot the picture.

Grass on a sunny day

I wanted to show the fuzzy texture of the grass seed heads, the way the light played off the fibers of the seeds, the way the wind shaped them, and the feeling of what kind of day it was that day.

Or this one.

Helpless

I can only imagine how helpless and alone I would feel if I were caught in a spider’s web. I took other shots zoomed in closer, but they didn’t convey the sense of loneliness that I wanted the photo to show.

Or this one.

A tale of two leaves

Just two leaves, one green, one yellow, lined up so that they appear to be one leaf.

Nothing special, nothing really dramatic, but I like to let nature provide the art, and I’ll just show up to record it.

Patterns in the sand

As always, thanks for stopping by!

11 responses

  1. Northern Narratives

    I really like the two leaves and the patterns in the sand are beautiful 🙂

    December 10, 2011 at 6:14 pm

    • Thank you.

      December 10, 2011 at 6:36 pm

  2. I really like the sand!! Wonderful!

    December 11, 2011 at 1:08 am

    • Thank you very much!

      December 11, 2011 at 9:56 am

  3. My favorite is the grass on a sunny day. Love the minute detail.

    December 11, 2011 at 5:48 am

    • Thank you!

      December 11, 2011 at 9:55 am

  4. Very nice! My favorite is the flowers & fountain.

    December 11, 2011 at 8:13 am

    • Thank you, I almost deleted that one, but there’s something about it that I like, even though it didn’t come out the way I wanted, glad you liked it.

      December 11, 2011 at 9:55 am

  5. I’m with Cee on the sand. I can imagine birds’ footprints, though I don’t think that’s what they were.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

    December 12, 2011 at 8:51 am

    • Thanks Steve. They’re the patterns in the sand left when the wind and wave action of Lake Michigan block a small stream that flows into the lake from flowing. The water in the creek builds up from the natural dam, and when there’s enough water, it breaks through the sandbar, allowing the creek to flow for a while again. This repeats itself over and over, and the creeks change their course often because of it.

      December 12, 2011 at 2:04 pm

      • And thanks for your detailed explanation.

        December 12, 2011 at 3:37 pm