My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

A chickadee grooming

We had fabulous weather here last weekend, and as I was hiking on Sunday, I came across this little chickadee.

Black capped chickadee

It had just finished taking what must have been a cold bath in a tiny little creek, and it perched there in the afternoon sun to dry out, warm up, and do some grooming. It’s one of the few times that I have seen a chickadee sit still for any length of time, normally they are always on the move. So here’s the series of photos that I took.

Black capped chickadee

Black capped chickadee

Black capped chickadee

Black capped chickadee

Black capped chickadee

Black capped chickadee

Black capped chickadee

Black capped chickadee

Black capped chickadee

Chickadees always seem to be such happy little birds, there are times I wish I were one of them.

That’s it for this one, I will be doing a couple more posts of just photos soon, for a couple of reasons. One is that I managed to get quite a few good photos of late, and the second is I don’t feel much like writing right now. Well, I do feel like writing, but I’m in a blue funk, and wouldn’t want to post what I wrote.

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

9 responses

  1. Great photos, David. I wish we had those little cuties down here. 🙂

    December 15, 2011 at 6:28 am

  2. I just adore chickadees. Well captured!

    December 15, 2011 at 10:12 am

  3. Northern Narratives

    Chickadees are wonderful.

    December 15, 2011 at 2:13 pm

  4. You’re right, chickadees don’t typically stay still for more than a few seconds at a time. Nice grabs!

    December 15, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    • Thank you, nothing like being in the right place at the right time.

      December 16, 2011 at 2:37 am

  5. Pingback: You’ll never see a fat woodpecker « Quietsolopursuits's Blog

  6. Chickadees, one of my favorite birds- always energetic and vocal!

    December 21, 2011 at 10:50 pm

    • Thanks, I think you’ll be seeing a few more of them around here shortly.

      December 22, 2011 at 2:24 am

  7. ralphiesmom

    I was just watching a half dozen chickadees sitting in a tree grooming outside my window in Seattle. I have a bird feeder and they sit in a hibiscus tree and take turns diving in for a seed. Just love them.

    August 21, 2012 at 11:53 am