My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

You’ll never see a fat woodpecker

As I wrote in the post “A chickadee grooming“, we had fabulous weather here last weekend, and as I was hiking on Sunday, I came across this juvenile downy woodpecker using up a lot of energy in search of a meal. It dawned on me while watching this woodpecker just how hard they work for most of their meals. I guess that’s why you never see a fat woodpecker. Here’s the series of shots I took as it was probing for a morsel of food.

Downy woodpecker

Downy woodpecker

Downy woodpecker

Downy woodpecker

Downy woodpecker

Downy woodpecker

Downy woodpecker

Downy woodpecker

Downy woodpecker

Downy woodpecker

Downy woodpecker

All that work, all the contortions it went through, just for one small meal, and we think we’ve got it rough. 😉

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

5 responses

  1. Nice series of photos. I enjoyed your description. 🙂

    December 16, 2011 at 10:08 am

  2. Interesting looking woodpecker. I’ve never seen one in the wild before. It’s always amazing what you can learn from observing the critters in the wild.

    December 16, 2011 at 12:32 pm

  3. Woodpeckers are fascinating birds. Thanks for sharing.

    December 16, 2011 at 2:41 pm

  4. You are getting some great photos!! I love it!

    December 16, 2011 at 3:48 pm

    • Thank you! Love yours as well.

      December 18, 2011 at 10:45 am