My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

The first snowfall of the year

This is going to be another post of just the photos I took over the last couple of days after our first real snowfall of the year. There’s nothing all that special about them, but I like them, and since this is my blog, I’m going to post them.

The reflection of blue sky on thin ice

Leaves from a rose bush

First snowfall of the year

First snowfall of the year

First snowfall of the year

Snow on these year's new growth of a blue spruce

A little snow on the water plants in a creek

First snowfall of the year

A portent of the dark winter days to come

First snowfall of the year on green grass

Ice and snow on algae

First snowfall of the year on green grass 2

Snow on fungi

Bird and berries, I think it's a finch, could be wrong

Patterns in thin ice on a creek

Patterns in the ice

A very confused wild rose sprouting new leaves in December

That’s it for this one, hopefully I’ll pull out of the funk that has me in its grip soon, and I’ll be able to write something that doesn’t sound like I’m the most negative person in the world. I’m not, but everything I try to write of late ends up sounding as if I’m some hateful old coot. It doesn’t help that I have a cold, and that the great weather we had last weekend as given way to dark and dreary rain.

Thanks for stopping by!

14 responses

  1. Hey, I’m just an old coot, too. Another blogger calls me a funky old dude. But I enjoy you photos and your writing, anyway. 🙂

    December 17, 2011 at 6:05 am

    • Thanks, funky old dude. 😉 not many bloggers I can say that to, most are much younger than we are.

      December 18, 2011 at 10:45 am

  2. Winter does come with a bit of funk. So worry not. The end is… Well, near enough.

    December 17, 2011 at 8:14 am

    • Thank you, only a week or so to go, and the days start getting longer again

      December 18, 2011 at 10:44 am

  3. You’ve captured some nice shots of the dreary winter. Our weather has been unpredictable. It was 30 degrees last week, yesterday was 52 degrees and today 41…

    December 17, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    • Thanks, it has been up and down here as well, snow one day, sun the next, then rain, and back to snow again.

      December 18, 2011 at 10:43 am

  4. Hope you feel better soon. Your photos are lovely. My favorite is the first. It is simple, yet inviting. (Here it’s snowing lightly right now.)

    December 17, 2011 at 4:12 pm

    • Thank you! I heard it is getting cold up there, hope you have lots of firewood ready!

      December 18, 2011 at 10:42 am

  5. I particularly like the ice cracks.

    December 17, 2011 at 11:09 pm

    • Thanks, one of my favorites as well.

      December 18, 2011 at 10:42 am

  6. It’s funny how a dusting of snow can make the somewhat bleak landscape look fresh. Christmas is the toughest time of year on one’s emotions–take those walks in nature and you’ll pull through. Love the photos–I especially like the one with the blue spruce and the reflection.

    December 18, 2011 at 7:11 am

    • Thank you!

      December 18, 2011 at 10:41 am

  7. Good seasonal photos! Hardly any snow has stuck here one state south of you, though there’s been flurries- it’s been much more rain than snow, and 2011 has been the rainiest year on record in some areas of the state. I’ve got very muddy boots to prove it!

    December 21, 2011 at 10:49 pm

    • Thank you, we haven’t had much snow, but we are above normal for precipitation for the month, lots of mud here as well.

      December 22, 2011 at 2:25 am