My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Weekly Photo Challenge: Self Portrait

Carrying two cameras may seem strange, but that’s how I got this shot this morning. I wasn’t even sure I was going to post something for the Weekly Photo Challenge this week, since what I look like means nothing, but I came up with this idea today while walking around in the fog, and I mean that literally. We are socked in with fog here in my area today with some drizzle from time to time. Anyway, before I go on about the weather, here’s the photo.

Self portrait

I set some napkins down on the ground first to protect my Canon from the dampness, then used the self timer to shoot this as I was taking pictures of the fog.

Foggy day

The Winter Solstice is tomorrow, our time, actually just after midnight. It has been a good fall and early winter in some respects, a bit warmer than average, with a lot more sunshine than average. We get around nine hours a day of sunlight here during December, and we typically average just 18% of possible sunlight due to lake effect clouds most years. We are way above that 18% this year, and I’m loving it! Now the daylight hours will be getting longer until next summer!

We haven’t had any snow to speak of, I think we are under three inches for this winter season. There are years when we get more than that everyday for weeks on end when the lake effect snow machine kicks in. I kind of miss having some snow, and I feel sorry for all those who want to go skiing or some other winter activity that requires snow, and of course Christmas won’t seem quite the same if it isn’t white around here. But, all in all, I would rather the weather be like it has than to be on the other side of average. 🙂

I’ve been on a bit of a tear lately as far as getting some really good photos, at least I think they’re good, if that doesn’t sound too boastful. Not only did I get the really good photo of the great blue heron, but I have some more that I have to sort through before I decide which ones to post, but here’s a teaser, a wild rose bush that is somewhat confused by our pleasant weather.

Wild rose leafing out in December

Maybe I am so shocked at seeing green leaves in December that I think the back-lighting setting off the green and reds of the leaves and thorns makes this a better photo than it really is?

Anyway, that’s it for now, thanks for stopping by!

11 responses

  1. Very cool self-portrait. I love it!

    December 21, 2011 at 2:03 pm

  2. Nothing at all unusual about carrying two cameras. I do it all the time (a backup SLR for my primary camera body).

    December 21, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    • Thanks for the comment and for taking the time to check out my blog. It may not be unusual for the professional or advanced amateur to carry two cameras, but most people look at me like I’m nuts for carrying two.

      December 22, 2011 at 2:28 am

      • Oh, the fact that people would look at you like you’re nuts for carrying two cameras doesn’t surprise me at all. Check out this article I wrote for an e-zine a few years ago:

        http://www.naturephotographers.net/articles0908/kl0908-1.html

        Pay particular attention to Episode 2.

        My only point is, people may look at you like you’re crazy, but it’s really not all that unusual (and it makes good sense). 🙂

        December 22, 2011 at 9:46 pm

      • Yeah, I’ve heard them all. My favorite is “What are you taking pictures of?”
        “Those critters over there.”
        “What critters”
        “The ones you just scared away by yelling!”

        December 23, 2011 at 2:50 pm

  3. We’ve had the same weather here in New Hampshire. I like your photo of the confused rose, and I know how it feels.

    I keep forgetting to say thank you for following my blog-I read yours every day and really enjoy it.

    Merry Christmas!

    December 22, 2011 at 8:08 am

    • Thank you! I love you’re blog, I learn something new with every post!

      December 22, 2011 at 2:16 pm

      • I’m glad to hear you say that-many hours of behind the scenes research goes into those posts, as I’m sure you know. It’s always good to hear that someone enjoys it-maybe that’s what keeps us going.

        December 22, 2011 at 4:42 pm

      • Yes, I do know how much work goes into a quality blog such as yours, thank you for all the hard work that you put into it.

        December 23, 2011 at 2:51 pm

  4. Very creative! I’m not sure how I missed this last month but better late than never I hope. Love the picture of the foggy day.

    January 13, 2012 at 3:26 pm

    • Thank you!

      January 14, 2012 at 12:56 pm