My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Crash!

While I was out for my daily hike, I took this series of shots of a Canadian goose. They are really bad shots, I was shooting with the goose between me and the sun, so you’ll have to overlook that aspect of the photos. But what happened was too good not to post, I hope you agree.

Canadian goose coming in for a landing

Actually, I shot these without thinking, or I wouldn’t have even raised the camera. I walked up to one of the ponds, and startled the geese of which this one was part of the flock. I just pulled the camera up and started shooting, and why I zoomed in on this one I have no idea, but I’m glad I did.

Canadian goose coming in for a landing

The goose didn’t fly very far, but it had quite a head of steam going when it landed.

Canadian goose starting its slide

Canadian goose sliding

You can see how far it was sliding by the tracks left on the ice.

Canadian goose falls down, goes boom!

Canadian goose trying to look dignified after falling down

Wildlife is usually so graceful in their movements that this series is a lot of fun for me. It’s nice to know that even a bird as graceful as a Canadian goose is sometimes as big a klutz as I am.

My hot streak as far as getting some great photos continues, I have a bunch more to sort through before I post them. I can even tell you what color a robin’s tongue is from some of the other shots I got today. If you already know what color a robin’s tongue is, please don’t spoil it for the rest of the readers here, it took me 56 years to learn that. I’m sure there are a few others that don’t yet either.

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

8 responses

  1. Rob Slaven

    oh my! Quite exceptional! Great clarify considering how fast those suckers move! Grand!

    Like

    January 3, 2012 at 8:29 pm

  2. I just read somewhere that waterfowl can die by being fooled into thinking they are landing on open water and finding too late that it is actually ice. Apparently they can hit the ice with enough force to be killed. I’m glad that didn’t happen to your goose friend, and that he just ended up looking daffy.

    I’m not sure I’ve been waiting my 56 years to find out what color a robin’s toungue is, but it would be an interesting thing to hear.

    Like

    January 3, 2012 at 5:43 pm

    • Thanks, I have heard that about waterfowl as well. The goose didn’t fly far or fast, I wouldn’t have even bothered them if I had known they were there, but neither I or the geese were paying attention, and I walked right up on them.

      Like

      January 4, 2012 at 2:33 am

  3. Great series sequence of the duck “crash”. I enjoyed it. 🙂

    Like

    January 3, 2012 at 3:27 pm

  4. This series really makes me wish I had shot a complete sequence like this when I had a similar experience with a duck. I also had similar problems with the light, but it was still worth posting.

    Like

    January 3, 2012 at 2:37 pm

    • Thanks for the comment. That’s the problem with wildlife photography, the wildlife is seldom in the best position for photos.

      Like

      January 3, 2012 at 3:06 pm