My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Weekly Photo Challenge: Launch

I was about to post the photo for this one anyway, and it is a perfit fit for this week’s challenge, Launch.

A few posts back, I posted a photo of a chickadee in flight, not a very good photo, but I made the comment that chickadees don’t fly, they use a hidden jet pack to zoom from place to place. Somewhere in the last few posts, I also posted a photo of a tufted titmouse, noting that I didn’t think I had before.

Well, to go a long with something else I wrote, about how getting back into nature photography was making me even more observant, I have noticed the reason I didn’t have many titmouse photos is that they sit still even less than chickadees do. I chased two of them around a tree the other day…

Tufted titmouse

Of course the auto-focus locked on the one back in the branches, not the one out in clear view, but I kept at it, I don’t give up easily.

Tufted titmouse

Finally, I got one out in the open more or less…

Tufted titmouse

Tufted titmouse

It didn’t sit there for long, it fired up the jet pack…..

Tufted titmouse launching itself into flight

…and shot off for parts unknown.

That’s it for this one, hope you enjoyed it as much as I did, and thanks for stopping by!

6 responses

  1. I like the abstractness that the branches add to these photos of titmice.I love the last one where it looks like it’s about to leap off the branch.

    January 7, 2012 at 8:37 am

    • Thank you!

      January 7, 2012 at 10:00 am

  2. Speaking of Chickadees, would you consider letting me use one of your Chickadee photos in an upcoming entry on my blog? The photo I would use is one of the series in your post “Cleaning out the leftovers” from 12/24/11. Full credit for the photo would go to you, of course. It would be used to illustrate how Chickadees eat the seeds of a plant I’m writing about.

    January 7, 2012 at 9:18 am

    • Thanks for considering one of my photos, it’s OK by me if you use it. Would you like a higher quality copy of it for your blog?

      January 7, 2012 at 9:58 am

      • Sorry it has taken me so long to get back to you. I’m involved in a renovation project and lose all track of time. Since it’s going to have your name on it, you should probably choose the photo that looks best to you. The one I’m thinking of is the chickadee in the 21st photo down from the top on your December 24th post. There’s no hurry though-I probably won’t be ready to post what I’m writing until next Saturday. And thank you!

        January 7, 2012 at 3:13 pm

  3. A super collection of photos. 🙂

    January 10, 2012 at 4:17 pm