My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Weekly Photo Challenge: Hope

Young male northern Cardinal singing

This is my take on the Weekly Photo Challenge for this week, Hope. Of course the male cardinal in the photo is singing, hoping to attract a mate, but, it is also a harbinger of spring, and the hope of a new year. It won’t be long now and there will be flowers blooming, butterflies fluttering about, and the return of the songbirds that have gone south for the winter.

I know, both the cardinal and I are jumping the gun, spring won’t arrive for a couple more months, but at least his tuning up his vocal cords for the spring  gives hope that it won’t be long.

5 responses

  1. greetings by
    http://flickrcomments.wordpress.com/2012/01/27/weekly-photo-challenge-hope/
    +

    January 31, 2012 at 1:14 pm

  2. Northern Narratives

    He sure is beautiful.

    January 31, 2012 at 4:16 pm

    • Thank you!

      February 3, 2012 at 10:12 am

  3. I love this 🙂 Beautiful photo, and such a great symbol. I definitely think things like this are a sign of hope! I found some snow drops the other day, I was so excited!

    February 3, 2012 at 7:23 am

    • Thank you! The signs of the approaching spring are everywhere, but in their subtle stage right now. Waiting for more sunshine and warmer temps to burst out.

      February 3, 2012 at 10:15 am