My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

The Weekly Photo Challenge: Ready

Ready is really such an easy topic, I was having a hard time deciding which way to go with it, until today. I just got back from taking some of the best photos of my life, if I do say so myself.

I’ll start simple, a fox squirrel ready for lunch.

Fox squirrel

Then a close-up view.

Fox squirrel

And, another fox squirrel ready for lunch, this one has broken off a twig from a maple tree, and is busy chowing down on the buds on the twig.

Fox squirrel eating maple buds

A better view.

Fox squirrel eating maple buds

I am so ready for spring and to see green again that I took this one.

First green of spring?

I know, very good photos, but hardly spectacular, well, those are about to come. A pair of mute swans getting ready for their afternoon nap!

Mute swans

I could tell it was nap time by the yawns.

Mute swan yawning

A little more preening to fluff up the feathers…

Mute swan preening

Then it was time for them to lay their heads down for their nap.

Mute swans napping

It took a few minutes, but first one..

Mute swans napping

..then both drifted off to dreamland.

Mute swans napping

That’s it for this one, thanks to all for stopping by!

10 responses

  1. Wonderful!!!

    February 9, 2012 at 3:01 pm

    • Thanks Cee!

      February 11, 2012 at 3:16 pm

  2. Wonderful photos!

    February 9, 2012 at 3:54 pm

    • Thank you!

      February 11, 2012 at 3:16 pm

  3. I didn’t know swans slept that way, and I wish we had squirrels here that weren’t so timid. Ours would never sit still and pose like that.

    February 10, 2012 at 5:02 am

    • Thanks for the comment! Yes, swans and at least Canadian geese sleep with their heads resting on their backs. I need to find some less timid grey squirrels for some photos of them.

      February 11, 2012 at 3:16 pm

  4. Pingback: My week….Starting out in a fog « Quietsolopursuits's Blog

  5. Cute squirrels & nice captures! They are indeed hard to photograph, I’ve tried, lol. The mute swan shots are dreamy, they look so relaxed & content. Love the yawn and preening shots too!

    February 11, 2012 at 6:31 pm

    • Thank you! I look forward to your posts and all the great photos you take!

      February 11, 2012 at 8:51 pm

  6. Northern Narratives

    Yes, I have seen Canadian geese sleep with their heads back.

    February 11, 2012 at 7:36 pm