My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

The Weekly Photo Challenge: Regret

No nature photos this week, I’m not sure that the concept of regret exists in nature, but this will nature related.

My parents

I don’t have many regrets in my life, the one that comes to mind is not getting to know my parents better. This is especially true as far as my mom, and how she came to be so knowledgeable about the outdoors, nature, and in particular, plants.

My parents were very private people, you simply didn’t ask them questions about themselves. I understand a lot more about my dad’s knowledge of the outdoors, since he was a hunter and fisherman who brought me along with him even at an early age.

My mom was way ahead of her times in a way, a college degree, and she worked as a book-keeper until we kids started coming along.  But the not so typical things about her were that she was an excellent archer, better than my dad, and she knew the names of so many wild plants, and wildlife in general.

I assume she learned from some of it from her parents, my grandparents, and growing up on a farm lends itself to that type of knowledge I suppose. My grandfather was also a member of the National Geographic Society, and I read many of the back issues of their magazine that he had saved, and I’m sure my mom did as well when she was growing up.

Still, I regret not learning how both of my parents became so well-educated about nature.

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

10 responses

  1. My parents were similar to certain degree. I didn’t know much about them either when it comes to their past. There are many times that I regretted not getting to know them better.

    February 13, 2012 at 6:49 pm

    • I think that’s the way people were back then, as it seems to be a common theme.

      February 14, 2012 at 3:04 am

  2. I think all of us have that same regret to a certain degree-myself included. It makes me wonder if my kids will have the same regret as well. Maybe the time to do something about that is now.

    Whether or not there is regret in nature is a very deep question. I’ve known animals that seemed more human than some of the humans I knew.

    February 13, 2012 at 7:21 pm

    • I know what you mean about animals being more human than some humans. And, I don’t think it’s ever too late to try to connect with your kids.

      February 14, 2012 at 3:07 am

  3. Sherri Vis

    Glad to read some insight into my in-laws! LOVE that your mom was an archer. Way cool. =)

    February 13, 2012 at 7:21 pm

    • She could shoot my dad’s longbow better than he could! When we were younger, she was teaching us about wild plants, and which ones were edible, but when you’re a kid, you think your parents know everything anyway, you never ask how they learned things like that.

      February 14, 2012 at 3:02 am

  4. Interesting. I can relate very much to what your saying in this post in more ways than one and I was surprised to read something that hit so close to home. But being that I am a very private person myself I’ll leave it at that. 🙂

    February 15, 2012 at 1:18 am

    • Thanks for the comment! If I wasn’t such a private person I would have gone on at length on the subject 😉

      February 15, 2012 at 2:12 am

  5. I really enjoyed this. It made me think about my relationship with my own parents (both in their mid-seventies) and how private they are with the details of their lives before all the kids came along.

    February 19, 2012 at 5:41 pm

    • Thank you! Our parents were born and raised in a different age, in more ways than one.

      February 20, 2012 at 12:54 am