My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Weekly Photo Challenge: Distorted

This one was a tough one for me, when it should be fairly easy. After all, many of my photos come out distorted in spite of the fact that I try my best not to have that happen. 😉 But, I’m sure what they meant when they picked this topic was artistic distortion, something I’m not good at. I gave it a shot though, two in fact.

The first is of a power plant outside of South Bend, Indiana, taken at night.

Power plant

I took that one from the window of the truck as I sat idling on an off ramp. I left the truck idling to blur the lights a little, I kind of like it, but I’m sure some one more artistic would have done better with the subject.

The second one is of rain drops blown onto the window of my apartment.

Raindrops on a window

Eh.

My first thought was to use a few photos of long-necked waterfowl preening themselves as I am fasinated by the way they can contort their neck as they preen.

Mute swan preening

But that would be contorted, not distorted, wrong tort. 🙂

There have been several periods during my life when I have attempted to do the more artsy types of photos, and I’m not afraid to admit that I’m just not good at that. My forté is up-close intimate portraits of wildlife, like this one.

Mute swan

And, I think it is better if one plays to his strengths rather than fumble around trying to do things they aren’t good at. So I hope you don’t mind if I have more or less blown off this week’s challenge.

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

6 responses

  1. We can’t all be good at everything. What a boring world that would be!

    March 9, 2012 at 11:07 am

    • Yeah, but I’d like to find something that I’m good at that would pay the bills.

      March 10, 2012 at 6:46 pm

  2. Northern Narratives

    I like the raindrops on the window.

    March 9, 2012 at 1:24 pm

  3. I still have to find out what my strength is, at the moment I enjoy shooting anything that catches my eye, or makes me excited. 🙂

    March 10, 2012 at 8:56 am

    • Nothing wrong with that!

      March 10, 2012 at 6:40 pm

      • Thank you!

        March 10, 2012 at 6:40 pm