My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

The Weekly Photo Challenge: Unusual

Given my warped sense of humor, here are a few things I find unusual.

I find it unusual that some one would just park a helicopter in the middle of the sky and leave it.

Helicopter parked in the sky

I find it unusual that the pilots of two jets would fly close enough together to be able to wave to one another.

Jets flying close together

I find it unusual that some one would feel the need to wear waders while cooking burgers on the grill.

Why?

I find it unusual that a grown woman would try to make shadow puppets….

Shadow puppet

…for flowers…

Real puppets

…when there are real puppets available.

I find it unusual that I had enough sense to shoot a shot like this when the opportunity presented itself.

Song sparrow imprisoned

I find it unusual that I didn’t let it go at just that one shot, but continued to work with the situation.

Song sparrow imprisoned

Of course, it’s unusual that I found a subject that sat still long enough for me to make the adjustments to the camera settings I needed to make as well.

That’s it for this one, as usual, thanks for stopping by!

14 responses

  1. Some real fun pictures, Jerry. πŸ™‚

    March 18, 2012 at 7:24 am

    • Thanks Bob!

      March 18, 2012 at 10:15 am

  2. plantsamazeme

    Again reading your blog first thing in the morning and I’m laughing out loud! Helicopters parked in the middle of the sky! The waders, the puppets, oh my! Thanks. πŸ™‚

    March 18, 2012 at 8:19 am

    • Thank you! There are logical explanations for those photos, but that takes all the fun out.

      March 18, 2012 at 10:14 am

  3. These pictures are both cute and funny. They’re great!

    March 18, 2012 at 9:28 am

    • Thanks Meg!

      March 18, 2012 at 10:12 am

  4. Northern Narratives

    Great post. The waders is the best for me. Maybe a theme for a grilling party πŸ™‚

    March 18, 2012 at 1:31 pm

    • Thank you. I guess you would say that photo was taken at a theme party, it was after we had collected aquatic insects for a Trout Unlimited study.

      March 18, 2012 at 8:19 pm

  5. I did LOL. Love the bird in jail! πŸ˜‰

    March 18, 2012 at 10:39 pm

    • Thank you, when I saw the sparrow sticking its head through the fence it did remind me of convicts sticking their heads out of their cells in the old gangster movies.

      March 20, 2012 at 3:46 am

  6. You take pictures of everything don’t you? I hope the bird was pardoned and released.

    March 19, 2012 at 11:48 am

    • If I took pictures of everything, I would never have time for anything else. The bird didn’t wait for a pardon, it escaped on its own.

      March 19, 2012 at 1:38 pm

      • I take pictures of just about everything so I thought you might do the same thing. I also thought the bird was stuck in the fence. I’m glad it wasn’t.

        March 19, 2012 at 7:43 pm

  7. sharkbytes

    Great pix- you made me smile!

    March 21, 2012 at 9:48 pm