My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Another spring photo dump

I’ve got another bunch of photos from around here this spring, there’s really no explanation needed for them, so here they are.

Flowering tree

Buds on a crab apple

Rhododendron

I used to know what these are, I even planted a couple in the yard way back when

Spring beauties

Flowering tree

Yellow violet

Buds on a crab apple

I should take notes, I forgot which tree I found this on

Flowering tree

Flowering tree

Flowering tree

Moon over flowering tree

Flowering tree

Maple leaves

Sumac leaves

Sorry, I forgot which tree again

Maple leaves

Maple seeds

Spruce flowers

Flowering crab

Spruce flowers

Marsh marigold

Dandelion and butterfly

And finally, a trout lily.

Trout lily

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

13 responses

  1. Beautiful, happy photos! πŸ™‚

    April 2, 2012 at 4:47 am

    • Thank you! Spring always makes me happy. πŸ™‚

      April 2, 2012 at 10:36 am

  2. I think the pink/red flowers you planted in the past are flowering quince. Looks like you’re still a week or two ahead of us. Nice shots!

    April 2, 2012 at 10:22 am

    • Thank you, they could very well be flowering quince, I’m terrible at identifying plants in the first place. Those photos were taken over a fence around a trucking company near here, as were several of the other flowering trees photos. I also find many flowers blooming there on the trucking company’s property, they do a very nice job of making their property attractive.

      April 2, 2012 at 10:35 am

      • If you can get close enough to it check for thorns. Flowering quince are thorny. They can live for many years and can get huge.

        April 2, 2012 at 7:22 pm

      • Thanks for the tips, it may be a while before I wander back over to that spot, it all depends on what’s going on in the back pond.

        April 3, 2012 at 10:53 am

  3. Gorgeous!

    April 2, 2012 at 1:46 pm

    • Thanks Cee!

      April 3, 2012 at 10:52 am

  4. Beautiful pictures. Our flowers, bushes and trees are not nearly that close to flowering. But the leaves are starting to show and the grass is already green πŸ™‚

    April 2, 2012 at 9:13 pm

    • Thank you, is all the snow gone from that big snowstorm already? I heard that you really got dumped on, close to two feet if the reports I read were accurate.

      April 3, 2012 at 10:55 am

      • More than 2 feet here. Believe it or not, the snow was basically gone after 3 days. What a mess that was. The strangest snow too. It was VERY wet so you walked on snow but sunk into this puddle. Just strange.

        April 3, 2012 at 6:37 pm

  5. Can’t get enough of spring photos- good shot of the trout lily, I know how hard it is to get a shot of the flower since they like to hang their heads!

    April 4, 2012 at 8:25 pm

    • Thank you, I hate to admit it, but I cheated a little on the trout lily and helped it to stand more upright. That’s something I rarely do, but they are so pretty, I wanted to show it off.

      April 5, 2012 at 10:04 am