My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

What we need around here is…

There are a few things that we could use around here, like an exorcist to remove the demon causing this poor robin’s head to spin around like Linda Blair’s did in the movie…

Robin bathing

Robin bathing

Robin bathing

Robin bathing

Robin bathing

Robin bathing

Whew, its head finally stopped spinning around, but the dummy better pick its beak up out of the water or it will drown!

Robin bathing

That’s better, but I don’t think the exorcism is done yet by the look of its eye!

Robin bathing

All better now?

Robin bathing

Almost.

Robin bathing

It must be OK, its singing in the bathtub now.

So, what else could we use? An air traffic controller!

Mallards in flight

The one on the far left is trying to tell the other two that he’s going to turn, but they didn’t listen, and two of them collided directly over my head. That’s not hard to believe with all the birds there are flying around here.

Kingfisher in flight

Kingfisher in flight

Kingfisher in flight

Killdeer in flight

Killdeer in flight

Canadian geese in flight

Canadian geese in flight

Canadian goose in flight

Canadian goose in flight

Canadian goose in flight

Red-tailed hawk in flight

Mallard in flight

Mallards in flight

Female mallard in flight

Kingfisher in flight

Crow in flight

Robin in flight

Great blue heron in flight

Canadian goose in flight

Canadian goose in flight

Red-tailed hawk in flight

As you can see, the airspace around here is really getting crowded, and that leads some birds to squabble over which one has the right of way!

Robins in a territorial dispute

Robins in a territorial dispute

Its getting so that even the hawks…

Red-tailed hawk in flight

…have to keep an eye peeled….

Red-tailed hawk in flight

…for low flying planes..

Low flying plane

…and each other…

Red-tailed hawks in flight

…and take evasive action…

Red-tailed hawk in flight

OK, so I’m kidding about the low flying planes. The skies are crowded here though, and I love it! Birds in flight never cease to capture my attention. Almost every species of bird has its own style of flying, some are slow and deliberate, others are quick and darting, some soar, some flit, but no matter what the style is, it is a thing of beauty and wonder to me.

And what we desperately need around here is some one to break me of my bad habit of sneaking up on sleeping mallards and firing the flash from my camera in their face!

Female mallard trying to sleep

Male mallard trying to sleep

Really, please, somebody tell me how to stop myself from doing this to the poor mallards!

Male mallard

I ‘m sure that there are other things we need around here as well, and I’ll get around to those in the future. That’s it for now, thanks for stopping by!

18 responses

  1. Great photos. Just one correction — the name is Canada goose, not Canadian goose. At least that is the official name according to the American Ornithologists Union — love your series of shots.

    April 4, 2012 at 2:07 pm

    • Thank you! I know that the correct name is Canada goose, but even the Michigan DNR refers to them as Canadian geese, that’s so ingrained in me that I will have to force myself to label the photos correctly.

      April 5, 2012 at 10:14 am

      • Hey everyone. I’m a she. Sheryl DeVore — And quitsolopursuits, I know what you mean about getting something engrained. There are bird names that I’ve mispronounced for a long time and I’m trying to say them correctly. All the best

        April 5, 2012 at 10:15 am

      • Hi Sheryl, thank you for your comments, but I shouldn’t try to reply to comments until I have finished my coffee in the morning. I’m not good at spelling in the first place.

        April 5, 2012 at 2:56 pm

  2. He is right. It is a Canada Goose. πŸ™‚ But what’s in a name. Great pictures of the birds in flight. That’s very hard to do, and you nailed them.

    April 4, 2012 at 6:56 pm

    • Thanks Bob, that means a lot coming from you!

      April 5, 2012 at 10:12 am

  3. I think those are some of the best pictures I’ve seen here. And I think I want a camera with more than 4X zoom capability.

    April 4, 2012 at 7:17 pm

    • Thank you, my “rule” for wildlife photography, get closer! That means more zoom or a longer lens, πŸ˜‰

      April 5, 2012 at 10:11 am

  4. plantsamazeme

    Hey that’s a whole lot of birds! Good job, nice shots, and such variety. It’s still hard to believe you have all these birds at an apartment complex, more like an aviary? Thanks for sharing. πŸ™‚

    April 4, 2012 at 7:44 pm

    • Thank you. I call it a wildlife refuge, it is hard to believe it is an apartment complex, and as far as the number of birds, that’s barely scratching the surface. I should do a species list of the birds around here, I think even I would be astounded.

      April 5, 2012 at 10:09 am

  5. Great shots! The Kingfisher is arrowing through the air. And I’m glad to know I’m not the only guy taking photos of airplanes as well πŸ™‚

    April 4, 2012 at 8:23 pm

    • Thank you, my dad was Air Force, and my brother is retired Air Force, planes interest us, as well as birds in flight. πŸ˜‰

      April 5, 2012 at 10:05 am

  6. Love your mallards in flight. Great photos. πŸ™‚

    April 5, 2012 at 11:21 am

    • Thank you, there will be more, you can count on that. πŸ˜‰

      April 5, 2012 at 2:56 pm

  7. Great series & captures of birds in flight. And I really laughed at your robin story, poor guy! Great shutter speed and sneaking up on him, robins around here are so darn flighty!

    April 7, 2012 at 11:18 pm

    • Thanks again, Donna!

      April 7, 2012 at 11:59 pm

  8. Love the commentary, great photos!

    April 9, 2012 at 12:10 am

    • Thank you Sheila, I hope you don’t mind if I give you one big THANK YOU! for all your very nice comments.

      April 10, 2012 at 2:56 pm