My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

The Weekly Photo Challenge: Journey

I’ll bet you already know where I’m going with this one, don’t you? Since the challenge this week is “Journey”, it could only be one thing for me, that’s right….

Coopers hawk in flight

…birds in flight.

Migrating birds make some of the most incredible, and longest journeys, other than man. I believe that the arctic tern holds the “record” for the longest migration, 25,000 miles (40,000 Km) of any animal. There may be some species of whales that come close to that, but I don’t have any photos of whales, or arctic terns for that matter, but I do have many photos of birds in flight.

Sandhill crane in flight

Red-tailed hawk in flight

Canada geese in flight

Canada geese in flight

The birds seem to do quite well on their own, but I would like to offer them a couple of tips based on some things that I have observed. First, you’ll find your journey much easier if you let go of the branch you were perched on before you decided to go on your journey.

Black capped chickadee

And secondly, if you’re needing a little motivation to get you started on your journey, there’s nothing like having some one trying to bite your butt and remove a few of your tail feathers to get you on your way!

Mallard taking flight

Mallards taking flight

So, to all you birds out there, it doesn’t matter if your journey is just a quick lap around a pond…

Mallards in flight

…or if your journey never seems to end…

Herring gull in flight

…I’m wishing for safe and soft landings….

Great blue heron landing

…for all of you.

That’s it for this little journey into my somewhat warped sense of humor, thanks for stopping by!

13 responses

  1. Great photos! My favourite is the Red-tail hawk in flight with the Great blue heron a close second.

    April 8, 2012 at 4:17 am

    • Thank you Laura, I’ll see what I can do as far as getting some even better ones.

      April 8, 2012 at 11:25 am

  2. Good pictures. It’s not easy to capture wild birds in flight.

    April 8, 2012 at 8:59 am

    • Thank you, I find it much easier with my DSLR than I did with my point and shoot, and it helps if you start with the larger birds and work your way down in size.

      April 8, 2012 at 11:24 am

  3. Can’t wait until the great blue heron return here. They’re a beautiful bird that I used to sit and watch for hours at a rookery near here.

    April 8, 2012 at 4:35 pm

    • Thanks for the comment, it shouldn’t be too long and the herons will return to your area.

      April 8, 2012 at 4:55 pm

  4. Love the birds in flight! Great shots! Just saw a couple herons the other day as well!

    April 8, 2012 at 11:42 pm

  5. Great flight series….and it does befit you for the ‘Journey’ challenge. 🙂 My favorite is the red-tailed hawk illuminated by the sun, awesome!

    April 9, 2012 at 10:10 pm

    • Thank you Donna! Just when I think I am getting good at photographing birds in flight, you post another awesome set of photos that blow me away.

      April 10, 2012 at 2:58 pm

  6. plantsamazeme

    Nice Journey!

    April 10, 2012 at 4:42 pm

    • Thank you!

      April 11, 2012 at 3:16 am

  7. I know how difficult it can be to get shots of birds in flight- ‘but the bird was the ONLY thing to focus on, why isn’t it in focus!’ Superb shots 🙂

    April 11, 2012 at 3:27 pm

    • Thank you! My “trick” is to constantly press the shutter release half way down over and over to keep the auto-focus tracking the birds correctly. That’s tough enough, lighting gives me fits, conditions that produce good results one time on one bird produces junk the next time, and I still haven’t figured that one out.

      April 13, 2012 at 10:06 am