My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Aman Park, On the shores of the trillium seas

On Sunday, April 15th, I took a long hike in Aman Park to view the wildflowers in bloom there. I try to make there every spring, as the display of wildflowers really has to be seen in person to be appreciated, my photos will only hint at how beautiful it is there this time of year.

Redbuds blooming in Aman Park

I walked almost all the trails in the park today, and here’s a preview of things to come.

Trilliums

There aren’t many places along the trail where you can go more than a few feet without seeing some type of flower this time of year.

Dogwood

Mixed wildflowers

Trillium and trout lily

The back of a trout lily

White Virginia bluebells

Virginia bluebells

Virginia bluebells

Virginia bluebells

Periwinkle

Periwinkle

Trillium from behind

Buttercup

Redbud

Redbud

Wild phlox

Wild phlox

Spring Beauties

But the real stars of the show are the trilliums, acres and acres of trilliums!

Trilliums

Trilliums

Trilliums

Trillium

There are also large masses of Virginia bluebells as well.

Virginia bluebells

All those flowers attract many insects, unfortunately, this is the only butterfly I managed to shoot.

Admiral butterfly

There were a few other species of flowers there today as well, but the photos of them that I took didn’t come out well enough to post here, I was not on my game today as far as photography. If I have identified any of the flowers incorrectly, please let me know.

That’s it for this one, thank you for stopping by!

18 responses

  1. Spring has finally sprung here too! I was starting to think it would never come. These are lovely photos but I think my favourites are the Virginia Bluebells.

    April 16, 2012 at 2:12 am

    • They’re beautiful, but I don’t do well photographing them, thank you.

      April 16, 2012 at 2:53 am

  2. Beautiful photos, thanks for sharing!

    April 16, 2012 at 10:03 am

    • Thank you, I wish I could have done better with the photos though.

      April 17, 2012 at 10:00 am

  3. Wow! What a great spot. I’ve never seen so many trilliums in one place. The huge drifts of them and the bluebells are amazing. It would be worth a trip to Michigan just to see that one spot.

    April 16, 2012 at 11:18 am

    • Thank you. It’s been so long since I have tried to show the scope and size of something that I was somewhat at a loss as far as trying to show how large some of the fields of flowers were. I would estimate that some of the patches of trilliums were over an acre in size, the bluebells, close to an acre. Aman Park in the spring is one of my “Must stops” every year.

      April 17, 2012 at 10:04 am

  4. I am very impressed not just with the pictures but with the fact that you know what they all are.

    April 16, 2012 at 12:39 pm

    • Thank you, I had a lot of help from other blogger’s posts in identifying them, Like New Hampshire Gardening Solutions and Plants Amaze Me.

      April 17, 2012 at 10:10 am

  5. The “trillium seas”…oh, how I love that title. They do look like seas when they bloom, don’t they? They aren’t blooming so far north yet, though. Maybe soon?

    April 16, 2012 at 4:31 pm

    • Thank you Kathy! I meant to wax poetic about how beautiful the displays of blooms were, but I was so tired when I did that post, I didn’t have the energy left to do so.

      April 17, 2012 at 10:12 am

  6. So beautiful…as usual! 🙂

    April 17, 2012 at 12:38 pm

    • Thank you, Zelmare!

      April 18, 2012 at 3:12 pm

  7. Incredibly beautiful!

    April 17, 2012 at 4:28 pm

    • Thank you, but I wish I had done a better job of showing how beautiful it was there.

      April 18, 2012 at 3:13 pm

  8. I just so enjoyed your hike and photos, what beautiful captures. I’ve not had time to do any hiking so it was even more special, like walking & exploring my own paths locally. What a gorgeous serene day you had, just awesome.

    April 19, 2012 at 10:10 pm

    • Thank you! There’s nothing like Aman Park in the early spring, it is awesome.

      April 21, 2012 at 10:47 pm

  9. Pingback: Aman Park, on the shores of the trillium seas 2013 part I | Quiet Solo Pursuits

  10. Pingback: Aman Park, on the shores of the trillium seas 2013 part II | Quiet Solo Pursuits