My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Weekly Photo Challenge: Sun

I should be able to knock this one out of the park, since I love being out in the sun and taking photos. I think that the one of my photos that best represents this week’s challenge will surprise you though, but first, a few others that fit.

Sunlight playing on the raindrops of a fir tree.

Raindrops on a fir tree catching the sun

And, the sun shining through the leaves of a red maple tree.

The sun as seen through the leaves of a red maple

The sun shining through the feathers of a red-tailed hawk in flight.

Red-tailed hawk in flight

The sun shining on the back of the same hawk.

Red-tailed hawk in flight

I suppose that I have to throw in a few of the cliché shots that fit, like turtles sunning themselves.

Painted turtles basking in the sun

Or the sun shining through a dogwood blossom.

Dogwood blossom in the sun

But you haven’t been able to see the sun in any of these, so it’s time to get creative.

The sun's reflection in the eye of a mourning dove

The sun's reflection in the eye of a robin

Or, I could go really clichéd again.

The sun over a dandelion

Not great, maybe I should try that again.

The sun over a dandelion

But, the photo that I took yesterday that just screams sun to me is this one.

Young woman soaking up some sun on a cool morning

That wasn’t posed, I was “hunting” a gold-crowned kinglet in the brush along a creek, you can see the brush to the right in the frame, when I saw this young woman reading. When she looked up to let the sun shine on her face, well, I knew that one was the one.

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

15 responses

  1. sandy

    Every shot is lovely. No favorites, even!

    April 22, 2012 at 11:39 am

    • Thank you, Sandy!

      April 22, 2012 at 6:40 pm

  2. Fun, exciting, full of colors and hope. Beautiful…Thanks for today’s inspiration.

    April 23, 2012 at 6:39 am

    • Thank you very much!

      April 23, 2012 at 10:19 am

  3. Is there something wrong with that robin? He looks like he’s had a rough life.

    April 23, 2012 at 9:23 am

    • I think the only thing “wrong” with it was that it perched in the wrong spot on a windy day, which ruffled its feathers somewhat.

      April 23, 2012 at 9:45 am

      • I’m glad to hear it-I thought he looked a little under the weather. But-what I know about birds would fit in a thimble, so you can’t go by what I say.

        April 23, 2012 at 2:57 pm

      • You know, I thought that I knew birds fairly well, but the last 6 months has me thinking that what you said about what you know about birds fitting in a thimble holds true for all of us. Some of us have slightly bigger thimbles, but I think that there is far more to learn than we can even imagine.

        April 24, 2012 at 2:16 pm

  4. I like all these sun-shiny shots and your accompanying words.

    April 25, 2012 at 9:47 pm

    • Thank you Teresita!

      April 28, 2012 at 1:28 am

  5. Solid sunny shots!

    April 26, 2012 at 7:56 pm

    • Thank you!

      April 28, 2012 at 11:11 am

  6. All the shots are fantastic, but I agree with you that the last photo says it best, especially for those of us living in a climate with four distinct seasons. Well done!

    April 26, 2012 at 11:18 pm

    • Thank you Laura!

      April 28, 2012 at 11:12 am

  7. Ohmygoodness, QSP, I do love your photographs here. I actually adored the first dandelion shot. It stopped my heart. The halves of it. I LOVE that photo.

    April 27, 2012 at 4:57 pm