My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Good Geese Gone Wild

On Thursday of this week, as I was doing my daily walk around the apartment complex, I witnessed the biggest fight between geese that I have ever seen. First, I have to apologize for the quality of the photos, it was a wet, rainy, cloudy day, and to top it off, the battery in my camera was about to go dead. I had to shoot some of these in manual focus for that reason, and I didn’t dare to shoot too quickly to give the camera time between shots.

The photos are self-explanatory, it was a goose fight, and an epic one at that, as you will see. But, not many words are needed to describe the action, so here goes.

It all started innocently enough, a pair of Canada geese coming in for a landing in a pond.

Canada goose in flight

Canada goose landing

The two new arrivals to the pond hadn’t even stopped moving before the resident gander charged them.

Canada goose wars

First one, then the other of the interlopers.

Canada goose wars

It’s hard to keep your balance when you’re being chased by a vicious goose!

Canada goose wars

The interlopers were hoping that if they ignored their attacker, that he would give up.

Canada goose wars

But that didn’t work.

Canada goose wars

Of course much honking had to go on during this opening skirmish.

Canada goose wars

Canada goose wars

It looked like the fight had become one of just words, with each pair of geese swimming in a different part of the pond, ut that was not the case for long!

Canada goose wars

Canada goose wars

Canada goose wars

Canada goose wars

It was mostly goose chasing goose for a while.

Canada goose wars

Canada goose wars

Then I lost all track of which goose was which, as the battle intensified!

Canada goose wars

Canada goose wars

Canada goose wars

Canada goose wars

Any slight lull was filled with honking.

Canada goose wars

Then the battle would resume, getting more violent after each lull.

Canada goose wars

Canada goose wars

There’s three geese in that pile, all flailing away at each other with their wings, and maybe their feet. I could hear their feet slapping the water when they were running, but the sounds coming out of that pile of goose made me think that they were slapping each other with their feet as well as their wings, plus, probably biting each other as well.

Then the pile began to separate.

Canada goose wars

And don’t you just love that one of the geese is sitting there watching its mate get the snot beaten out of it?

Canada goose wars

Then, as the battle gets close to it, the goose not fighting decides that discretion is the better part of valor, even if its mate is getting wailed on.

Canada goose wars

A second pile up, with more beating each other with wings and feet.

Canada goose wars

Then they separated again.

Canada goose wars

It was at this point that my camera needed a short break, but all that was left was for the interloper to fly to the other side of the pond as the resident gander gave his best Tarzan impression.

Canada goose wars

Canada goose wars over, time to let every one know who the winner was

That was followed by this.

Canada geese honking at each other

I’m not sure what that was all about, but then, I’m not fluent in goose yet.

That’s it for this one, stay tuned for the story of four geese, two herons two ponds, and more! Thanks for stopping by!

13 responses

  1. Pingback: My Week…New Life « Quietsolopursuits's Blog

  2. Northern Narratives

    I can hear the honking and the water splashing!!!

    April 28, 2012 at 7:40 pm

    • Thank you. What I remember hearing was the sounds of their wings as they beat on one another. I’ve been hit by a goose wing, they can really smack you!

      April 28, 2012 at 7:44 pm

  3. I wonder why that goose wants that pond all to himself? I wonder if he senses that there is only enough food for the pair of them or if he’s afraid another goose will steal his bride.

    April 28, 2012 at 9:40 pm

    • I have no idea. The next post of mine is going to be on geese chasing herons around. That makes even less sense. Herons and geese don’t eat the same food, and no heron is going to steal a gander’s mate. Must be testosterone at work. Hormones, got to love ’em.

      April 28, 2012 at 9:57 pm

      • Maybe that really is all it is-I’m the boss here and don’t you forget it!

        April 28, 2012 at 10:11 pm

      • That, and maybe some of it is from the geese having been pushed around by the swans earlier this year, who knows. Hoofed mammals sure go off the deep end during the rut, but I didn’t know how bad waterfowl were until this spring.

        April 28, 2012 at 10:59 pm

  4. Quite the ruckus, lol

    April 28, 2012 at 10:30 pm

    • Thank you Iris!

      April 28, 2012 at 10:45 pm

  5. WHOA what a goose war it was! I’ve never seen them go at it like that for so long. Great captures!

    April 30, 2012 at 1:48 pm

  6. Very fun! (Well, I guess for the observer, but not the participants.) We have geese on our office property that started “attacking” us; I need to write a post on that.

    April 30, 2012 at 10:10 pm

  7. Goodness gracious!!! 🙂 Fortunately no fatalities…

    May 1, 2012 at 4:17 am

    • No, not a single death, so far. I shot a photo today of two geese body slamming each other, it will probably be in next week’s edition. And, thanks for the comment!

      May 2, 2012 at 2:20 pm