My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Weekly Photo Challenge: Unfocused

With as many bad photos as I take of birds when the auto-focus can’t find the bird I intended as the subject of the photo, you would think that this challenge would be a cinch, but I actually found it somewhat difficult. Here’s what I could come up with.

Flowers and frog

Good, but I think I can do better.

Flowers and frog

The moon always comes in handy for these types of photos.

The moon and leaves

Sometimes, raindrops work also, as the individual drops are next to impossible to focus on.

Rain hitting the pavement

And when the rain lets up…

Wet pavement

…and I have to do a bird or two.

Grey catbird

Baltimore oriole in the treetop

That’s my take on this challenge, hope that you enjoyed it, and thanks for stopping by!

5 responses

  1. I’ve got examples of ‘unfocused’ by the gazillion… 😉

    May 13, 2012 at 11:34 am

    • I know what that’s like, believe me. Thanks for the comment.

      May 14, 2012 at 1:55 am

  2. I don’t think I’d have any trouble with this one.

    May 13, 2012 at 7:52 pm

    • Thank you for the comment. I have tried to do the artistic, purposely out of focus photos before, it’s tougher than you would think it is.

      May 14, 2012 at 1:58 am

      • Purposely yes, I imagine it wouldn’t be easy, but I have many where the camera decided to focus on something other than the subject at hand.

        May 14, 2012 at 5:33 am