My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

“All right, Mr. DeMille, I’m ready for my close-up,”

No, not the story of a crazed silent film star, but a few close-ups of birds that I shot today. They’re self-explanatory other than which species they are, which will appear in the captions to the photos.

Barn swallow

Barn swallow

Barn swallow

Barn swallow

Barn swallow

Barn swallow

American robin

American robin

American robin

American robin

American robin

American robin

Canada goose gosling

Canada goose gosling

And finally…

Bullfrog

Hey wait, that’s no bird! No, but it’s the closest thing to a photo of Joe Gillis (William Holden) that I had. For those of you wondering what I’m talking about, check out the old movie “Sunset Boulevard”.

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

12 responses

  1. Excellent wild life time lapse photography!!! Cheers Nonoy Manga

    June 3, 2012 at 9:01 pm

    • Thank you Nonoy!

      June 3, 2012 at 11:49 pm

  2. Love the fluffy gosling! 🙂

    June 5, 2012 at 1:39 am

    • Thank you, they are cute aren’t they?

      June 6, 2012 at 10:50 am

  3. I can’t tell if those are cherries or crabapples that robin is eating but it looks like he’s picking that tree clean.

    June 5, 2012 at 5:59 am

    • Thank you! Some one else told me it was a service berry tree, which I had never heard of. Could be a regional name, all I know is that it is one of the decorative small trees planted here as part of the landscaping. And, just a few days after those photos, it has been picked clean by the robins and waxwings.

      June 6, 2012 at 10:49 am

  4. RLS

    Awesome photos…especially the birds. I find capturing images of birds difficult as they are too fast, or maybe it is just I’m too slow. Anyway, great job on the photos!

    June 5, 2012 at 6:54 pm

    • Thank you! Photographing birds takes practice, lots and lots of practice. For every good shot I get, I delete four to six bad shots that didn’t come out as I wanted.

      June 6, 2012 at 10:48 am

  5. Pingback: My Week…Severe drought « Quietsolopursuits's Blog

  6. Northern Narratives

    I really like the barn swallow 🙂

    June 10, 2012 at 1:29 pm

    • Thank you very much!

      June 10, 2012 at 6:25 pm

  7. Pingback: My Week…Severe drought | National Geographic Wallpapers