My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Trying to fight the spammers

Just a quick note here, I have made some of my earlier posts private for a while in an attempt to fight off the spammers that are missed by Akismet. There are two or three of my earlier posts that attract almost all of the spam I get here, so those will not be available for a few days. I assume that the spammers have those posts bookmarked, or what ever they do to keep coming back to the same place all the time.

I don’t normally get that much spam here, but for the last week, I have been deluged with it. After a few days with no spam, I will make those posts public again. But, if you were to look for them now, you won’t be able to find them, sorry.

14 responses

  1. I, too, am getting flooded with spams. I don’t know what the deal is. I had 54 yesterday, 32 today so far. I am glad there is an “empty spam” button.

    June 11, 2012 at 2:38 pm

    • Thanks for stopping by! I don’t know if there’s a problem with Akismet or what, but I’m getting several dozen spam a day.

      This is off topic, but I read a news article about Civil War photography, and they mentioned that Bob Zeller had written several books on the subject. Would you be that Bob Zeller?

      June 12, 2012 at 9:45 am

      • I get that all the time. Get this. One time a woman who was an acquaintance, approached me with one of his books and wanted me to sign it. She swore that I was the same guy, even his wife’s name is Ann, same as mine.

        Strictly a co-incidence. I even was once asked to travel to a civil war battleground somewhere in the east, to give a lecture about photographing the old civil war sites.

        June 12, 2012 at 1:11 pm

      • Oops, sorry. I knew that you were a photographer, so it seemed to fit. At least I didn’t ask if you had taken any photos of the Civil War. πŸ˜‰

        June 12, 2012 at 1:15 pm

  2. You must be unlucky because Akismet seem to pick up all my spam. There has been a lot lately though, I agree. I am plagued with spam followers so that I have about 130 hits and over 200 followers. What is that all about?

    June 11, 2012 at 2:45 pm

    • Thank you! If you share your blog on Facebook, all your FB friends are counted as followers, maybe that’s where the 200 are coming from?

      June 12, 2012 at 9:40 am

      • No, I don’t put it on FB. They don’t even seem to be real people and often the have wordpress pages with nothing on them. Curious.

        June 12, 2012 at 12:48 pm

  3. Well now, I wish I had that problem. I don’t get very many visitors on my blog 😦

    June 11, 2012 at 6:04 pm

    • Thanks Iris. Lots of hits is a double edged sword. A good many of the hits to my blog are other bloggers promoting their own blogs, like, why would I be interested in following a blog about the latest Hip-Hop fashion trends? On the other hand, I get a good many hits via search engines, from people who use my blog as a resource for places to go in Michigan. Those people seldom hit the like button or leave a comment, but they do seem to return time and time again, checking out the maps and such that I have posted.

      So, I don’t want to tell you how to run your blog, but if I were you and wanted more hits to my blog, and more business for your establishment, here’s what I would do. I would start a series, weekly if you have the time, on things to do in the area. You’re not far from Sleeping Bear Dunes, you could milk several posts about that. Kayaking the Platte, Betsie, and other rivers in the area, along with the larger lakes like Crystal Lake. And, since Frankfort is one of the premier fishing ports on Lake Michigan, I would see about teaming with a charter captain, or sporting goods store owner to do a weekly fishing report from some one who knows the fishing, and would like some extra exposure as well. There’s the M 22 scenic highway aspect, you’re right in the middle of the corridor, and I see dozens of cars with M 22 stickers on the back everyday while I drive for work. Then, there’s the history of the area, the King of Beaver Island, D.H. Day, and others who made the area what it is. Lighthouses aren’t as popular as they were a few years ago, but they still attract many people, so do a series on the lighthouses on the Lake Michigan coast within a day’s drive of Frankfort. None of these have to be really detailed, but position the Wayfarer as the place for people to stay who would like to visit all the wonderful things there are to see and do in the area.

      I hope I haven’t overstepped my bounds here, just trying to help out a fellow blogger.

      June 12, 2012 at 10:31 am

  4. I wish someone would tell the spammers that, for the most part, they’re just wasting their time. Honestly, it has to be the most ineffective marketing scheme or SEO plan going. Hasn’t anyone told them about Akismet?

    Hope things settle down for you soon πŸ™‚

    June 12, 2012 at 2:21 am

    • Thanks Laura, why any one still spams is beyond me, are there still people out there that will allow it on their blogs? That’s a rhetorical question by the way.

      June 12, 2012 at 9:35 am

  5. You’re the second person I’ve heard this week who’s doing battle with spammers. Poor you! Do what you have to do:)

    June 12, 2012 at 2:53 am

    • Thank you for understanding.

      June 12, 2012 at 9:34 am

      • πŸ™‚

        June 12, 2012 at 9:45 am