My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Thanks Dad!

Today is Father’s Day here in the United States, and while I lost my dad to heart disease nearly a decade ago, I miss him more than ever.

My dad

So, I thought I would do a short post to say thank you to my dad, for taking me hunting and fishing when I was a kid.

Thanks dad, for getting me interested in photography, and for teaching me the basics.

Thanks dad, for teaching me how to work on cars and bikes, and how to drive them well. You’d love the World Rally Championship, those guys know how to drive!

Thanks dad, for taking me canoeing, and teaching me about rivers and lakes, and the wildlife associated with each.

Thanks dad, for passing on your understanding and love of wildlife.

Thanks dad, for passing on your love of reading and learning, and for teaching me that through books, one can learn everything there is to learn.

Thanks dad, for teaching me that anything that any one else does, I can do also.

Thanks dad, for teaching me that it doesn’t matter what other people think of me.

Thanks dad, for teaching me to respect women as equals, long before it was the norm.

Thanks dad, for teaching me the true meaning of the word gentleman.

Most of all, thanks for being my dad, I miss you, I love you!

3 responses

  1. Well said. I know how you feel-my dad has been gone for 26 years now.

    June 17, 2012 at 10:16 am

    • Thanks for the comment, and I am very sorry to hear about your father.

      June 20, 2012 at 1:56 pm

  2. Wonderful tribute to your dad, Jerry.

    June 20, 2012 at 10:43 pm