My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Who in their right mind does this?

I am furious! There were some snapdragons that had escaped the wrath of Mary Dye, the new manager here at Byron Lakes apartments, but she must have spotted them and ordered the groundskeepers to destroy them, as she obviously is a deranged individual that hates any display of color.

Dead snapdragons

Those snapdragons were flowers that had managed to re-seed themselves from back in the day when the landscaping around here was a sight to behold, with flowers everywhere. These had been growing in the crevices of a rock wall along one of the creeks. I had taken and posted a few photos of them, but I was waiting until they really got going as far as blooming, then, I was going to do an entire post on just them.

That obviously isn’t going to happen now, as they have all been ripped out of the ground and dumped into the creek to die. I just do not understand any one who has the flowers trimmed off from flowering bushes, or has people rip flowers out of the ground to kill them. I have got to get out of this place before I go even crazier than I am already!

8 responses

  1. Northern Narratives

    Unbelievable 😦

    June 20, 2012 at 1:23 pm

    • Thank you, I wouldn’t have believed it if I hadn’t seen it.

      June 20, 2012 at 1:50 pm

  2. Too bad! I love snapdragons!

    June 20, 2012 at 2:49 pm

  3. snowbirdpress

    I agree, this is certainly beyond the pale…

    June 20, 2012 at 3:17 pm

  4. how sick and unnecessary! Sad, sad person…

    June 21, 2012 at 4:10 am

  5. Anyone who can’t stand the beauty of flowers must have some real issues going on that I’d rather not even speculate on.

    June 23, 2012 at 5:04 pm

  6. That’s just unreal. I think your post title says it all: “Who in their right mind does this?”. The person who ordered it was not in their “right mind”, obviously. Flowers give happiness, make us smile, bring color to colorless places, and always brighten our springs with their relentless fight for survival.

    Perhaps there are some seeds left that will blossom next year. Meanwhile, do you have an association board? Maybe they’ll listen.

    June 27, 2012 at 9:01 pm

    • Thank you Judy! This is an apartment complex, so no association board. The flowers that were there were “escapees” that had re-seeded themselves from when they used to plant large expanses of flowers here, so they will probably come back again. But, I probably won’t be here to see them, this is getting ridiculous, and I am in the process of finding a new place to live.

      June 28, 2012 at 1:10 pm