My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Having a bad Hair(on) day

Ever have a day when not much goes right? Well Bunky, you’re not alone, it even happens to birds on some days. Take this unfortunate heron as an example.

Great blue heron in flight

I heard it croak a warning as it took off, I don’t know what it was that caused it to take flight, but you can see from its outstretched neck that it had just taken off. It pulled its neck back to the normal position for flight as it went along.

Great blue heron in flight

Great blue heron in flight

Great blue heron in flight

I didn’t pay too much attention to where the heron went, I have told myself that I’m not going to chase them around any longer, just for a few bad photos of their butts as they fly away from me. But, when they fly at me, they’re fair game.

Anyway, a bit later on, I found the heron trying to do a little fishing in a pond.

Great blue heron

Once again, I was going to stick to my vow not to chase the heron around, but then, three other intruders showed up, and I just had to shoot them!

Great blue heron and a family of raccoons

Great blue heron in flight and a family of raccoons

Great blue heron and a family of raccoons

The heron didn’t seem to be bothered by the presence of the raccoons, but it did stop hunting and kept a close eye on them as they made their way past him.

Raccoon looking for its young

A family of raccoons

The red-winged blackbirds were not happy with the raccoons being there.

Red-winged blackbird scolding raccoons

The mother raccoon would step out into the open once in a while, the young stayed back in the taller weeds, darn, they were so cute!

Mother raccoon leading her young

I stuck around for a while, hopping that I would get a better shot of the young raccoons, but they vanished somehow or another. With the raccoons gone, the heron thought that it was time to get back to hunting again.

Great blue heron with its catch

Great blue heron

Suddenly, the heron stood straight up, I thought that it had spotted me in my hiding spot in a bush, or maybe had heard my camera, because it was looking all around.

Great blue heron

Then I saw what the heron was watching for, a red-winged blackbird and its reflection on the attack!

Great blue heron being attacked by a red-winged blackbird

Great blue heron in flight

Great blue heron in flight

Great blue heron in flight

The poor heron was sure having a bad day, getting pushed around all over the place. But, this time I had nothing to do with it, all those photos of a heron in flight, and not a single shot of a heron’s butt! I guess that means it was my lucky day, I hope some rubs off on the heron so it can do its hunting in peace.

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

17 responses

  1. snowbirdpress

    I can’t thank you enough for this view of one of my favorite birds… What a delight this post is for me tonight! Many thanks! Merrill

    June 23, 2012 at 10:04 pm

    • Thanks for the kind words Merrill!

      June 23, 2012 at 11:13 pm

  2. Great shots, Jerry. I love those Great Blues. If I ever do get back to Michigan I am going to look you up.

    June 23, 2012 at 10:13 pm

    • Thanks Bob, and if I ever get to Texas when it doesn’t have to do with work, I’ll be sure to look you up.

      June 23, 2012 at 11:12 pm

  3. Northern Narratives

    Baby raccoons are so cute 🙂

    June 23, 2012 at 10:34 pm

    • Thank you! Yes they are, I wish I could have gotten better photos of the kits.

      June 23, 2012 at 11:11 pm

  4. Fascinating post. Thank you.

    June 24, 2012 at 6:52 am

    • Thanks for the comment, and for all the wonderful photos you post on your blog!

      June 24, 2012 at 9:38 am

  5. Excellent photos. I love seeing blue herons-I’ve only seen a couple here this year.

    June 24, 2012 at 6:55 pm

    • I was worried early in the spring because I wasn’t seeing them, now, they’re coming out of the woodwork, and I see two or three at a time once in a while.

      June 24, 2012 at 8:31 pm

  6. I managed to scoop a Great Blue Heron’s feather out of the river last week.

    June 25, 2012 at 10:57 pm

    • It may be silly to say this, but you have to be careful about even picking up the feathers of some birds. It’s a Federal crime to possess the feather of eagles or other birds on the endangered species lists, and some states have very strict laws as well.

      June 26, 2012 at 2:57 am

      • I thought about that, but decided to risk it.

        June 26, 2012 at 8:49 am

  7. Great post & photos Jerry! The GBH is one of my favorites!

    June 26, 2012 at 11:38 pm

    • Thanks Donna!

      June 28, 2012 at 1:13 pm

  8. Great shots! I know that heron croak of frustration well!

    June 28, 2012 at 9:47 pm

    • Thank you!

      June 30, 2012 at 10:08 am