My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

I’m baaack!

I could sub-title this post “What a long strange trip it’s been” or “All’s well that ends well”, but my trip hasn’t ended yet.

If you remember, I shut off my Internet service in an effort to save money to purchase a condo, that didn’t happen. I found several very nice condos that would have worked for me, but after two real estate agents and five, count them five, mortgage companies, I was forced to move to a different apartment complex because the immature snot managing my old apartment complex refused to continue my lease on a month to month basis because he heard that I “made negative comments about the Byron Lakes community”.

My new apartment is just as nice as the old one, for $150 a month less, plus, the new one has a garage, so that saves me another $110 a month on the storage unit I was renting. I took some of the money that I had saved towards a condo and bought a great, reliable, fun to drive vehicle to replace the Ford explorer that I had owned and was on its last leg.

My 2013 Subaru Foreter!

My 2013 Subaru Forester!

That’s right, I leased a 2013 Subaru Forester, and I love it! During my move, I loaded all my outdoor gear as if I were going on a week-long camping, fishing, kayaking, hiking trip, and everything fits. It also get 25 MPG in town compared to the old Ford’s 14 MPG, so the gas savings I am seeing pays for the insurance on the Subaru.

I could go on forever about how much I love it, but I’ll just say that if you’re in the market for a vehicle, you should really check out a Subaru, you’ll be glad you did.

On the nature/nature photography side, I have hundreds of photos to share as I get the time to sort through them all. Some are technically good,

Fox squirrel

Fox squirrel

…some are extremely interesting, even if they aren’t the greatest photos in the world.

Great blue heron carrying a rodent it had just captured

Great blue heron carrying a rodent it had just captured

I would like to thank every one who commented looking forward to my returning online, and I have saved all the links to all the blog posts people have done over the last few months so I can see what all of you have been up to as well. It will take me a while to get caught up, and to sort through all my photos, but it sure feels good to be back.

I signed a one year lease here, so I’ll start saving money again and hope that the mortgage industry comes to its senses (I’m not really counting on that), then purchase a condo this coming fall. I found a very nice one in the development that I like for under $35,000, but the banks wouldn’t write a mortgage for it for me. They said I qualified, they said the condo and development qualified, but the combination of myself and the condo didn’t qualify. They couldn’t tell me why that was, all they could tell me was that their automated approval software kicked the loan out as rejected. So, I’ll try again next year.

I’m going to make this a short post, as I have a lot to do as far as getting caught up yet, but I will be posting on a regular basis again. Thanks for stopping by!

16 responses

  1. Great to hear from you again, Mark. (Gosh, I hope I remembered your name correctly.) Let me know if I am wrong. Looking forward to your posts and photographs.

    December 15, 2012 at 3:33 pm

    • Hi Bob, hope you’re feeling better. Actually, the name is Jerry, but you can just call me QSP (quit solo pursuits) if you like.

      December 15, 2012 at 4:34 pm

  2. The mortgage company response about that condo loan makes absolutely no sense ! They’ve gone crazy with their requirements and it’s now time to give your first two children.
    Congrats on your new digs, new wheels and new beginning, and welcome back.

    December 15, 2012 at 6:45 pm

    • Thanks for the comment. In fact, I was so far along in the process of a loan with one bank that they required me to sign a form so that they could get my last two tax returns from the IRS, I thought that was a little much, but they wouldn’t proceed without my tax returns.

      December 15, 2012 at 6:50 pm

  3. Welcome back Jerry. It’s good to be learning again-I didn’t know that great blue heron ate rodents. I wonder if your new place will be as full of wildlife as the old was. That was pretty amazing!

    December 15, 2012 at 6:50 pm

    • I didn’t know that herons ate rodents either, until this last summer. The heron’s normal routine is to carry the poor helpless rodents to the water, drown the poor little things by holding them under the water, then swallow them as the heron do fish. In this case, some one else spooked the heron off before it could finish doing the killing. There’s more wildlife here than at my old apartment in some ways, but we’re not fully aquainted yet, I have to do a post on that aspect of photography. Critters get used to you when you’re around every day. Oh, and thanks for the comment!

      December 15, 2012 at 7:03 pm

  4. Great to have you back. I’ll miss your old condo rants as they kept me highly amused though I could see it wasn’t funny for you. I look forward to seeing your photos.

    December 15, 2012 at 7:15 pm

    • Thanks for the comment and the nice words!

      December 16, 2012 at 10:07 am

  5. It’s nice to have you back again. I can’t wait for the photos.

    December 15, 2012 at 11:15 pm

    • Thanks for the comment, and the photos will be dribbling out shortly.

      December 16, 2012 at 10:07 am

  6. Northern Narratives

    I don’t know how it is in MI but here in MN the credit unions are better than the banks for mortgages.

    Welcome back 🙂

    December 16, 2012 at 9:52 am

    • Thanks for the comment. Actually, I did try a credit union on the advice of my realtor, but the rep there told me there were no low down payment programs to be used on condos, then, stopped returning my calls.

      December 16, 2012 at 10:06 am

  7. I too didn’t know that GBH’s ate rodents. I’ve always just seen them fishing. Great shot!

    December 17, 2012 at 7:19 am

    • Thanks, I didn’t know that either until this last summer.

      December 17, 2012 at 9:29 am

  8. Welcome back, Jerry, missed you! As you know, I was a bit AWOL too and trying to catch up on my fave blogs as well. Thanks for catching up with mine! Sorry to hear about the darn mortgage brokers, maybe it’s for the best for a better condo and location a year from now. The mortgage rates should still be favorable for you. 🙂

    Okay, have to say, me too, I never knew a GBH would go for a rodent. Excellent capture for the records and for sharing with us, thanks!

    And congrats on the new wheels! A friend of mine has your model and loves it!

    January 10, 2013 at 2:09 pm

    • Thank you! The less said about the business end of my life this past summer, the better! 🙂 One of the reasons I love photography is what I learn about wildlife while photographing it. And, I do love my Subaru, but I knew that I would!

      January 10, 2013 at 3:04 pm