My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Eastern Phoebe

The Eastern Phoebe is a plump songbird with a medium-length tail. It appears large-headed for a bird of its size. The head often appears flat on top, but phoebes sometimes raise the feathers up into a peak. Like most small flycatchers, they have short, thin bills used for catching insects.

I do hope that I have identified these correctly, if not, please let me know!

Eastern Phoebe

Eastern Phoebe

Eastern Phoebe

Eastern Phoebe

Eastern Phoebe

Eastern Phoebe

Eastern Phoebe

Eastern Phoebe

Juvenile Eastern Phoebe in flight

Juvenile Eastern Phoebe in flight

Juvenile Eastern Phoebe with its catch

Juvenile Eastern Phoebe with its catch

Eleven down, 339 to go!

That’s it for this one for now, thanks for stopping by!

7 responses

  1. That was an excellent post today. Thanks so much for sharing it. I really enjoyed reading it very much. I’ll be sure to pass it along.

    Have a great day.

    January 24, 2013 at 2:19 am

  2. For years I thought that the mating call of the black capped chickadee, which sounds like fee-bee, was coming from a phoebe. Then a friend who was president of the local Audubon chapter gave me a CD with tons of bird info on it including their songs, and I finally knew for sure which bird was singing my favorite song.

    January 24, 2013 at 6:16 am

    • Thanks, now that you mention it, phoebes and chickadees do sound a lot alike.

      January 24, 2013 at 9:43 am

  3. Northern Narratives

    I don’t know very much about this bird so thanks for the information.

    January 24, 2013 at 11:33 am

    • At first I was just going to post photos, and nothing more. That didn’t seem quite right though, so depending on the species, I will post at least some info about them.

      January 25, 2013 at 1:31 am

  4. plantsamazeme

    I have been enjoying your bird life list in photos. You have made much progress! Thanks.

    January 24, 2013 at 8:33 pm

    • Thank you! I still have a very long way to go.

      January 25, 2013 at 1:32 am