My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Great Egret, Ardea alba

Great Egret, Ardea alba, I can’t say that I know much about this species, other than that they are wading birds in the same family as herons. So I am going steal a few tidbits about them from other Internet sites.

The Great Egret is the symbol of the National Audubon Society, one of the oldest environmental organizations in North America. Audubon was founded to protect birds from being killed for their feathers.

The Great Egret is a large heron with all-white plumage. Standing up to 1 m (3.3 ft) tall, this species can measure 80 to 104 cm (31 to 41 in) in length and have a wingspan of 131 to 170 cm (52 to 67 in). It is only slightly smaller than the Great Blue or Grey Heron(A. cinerea). Apart from size, the Great Egret can be distinguished from other white egrets by its yellow bill and black legs and feet, though the bill may become darker and the lower legs lighter in the breeding season. In breeding plumage, delicate ornamental feathers are borne on the back. Males and females are identical in appearance; juveniles look like non-breeding adults.

I didn’t get many photos of great egrets last summer, it seemed like it was always raining whenever one showed up. That may not have been all bad, since they are all white birds, photographing them in direct sunlight can be tricky. So, here’s what I managed to get.

Great Egret in flight

Great Egret in flight

Great Egret in flight

Great Egret in flight

Great Egret in flight

Great Egret in flight

Great Egret in flight

Great Egret in flight

Great Egret landing

Great Egret landing

Great Egret

Great Egret

Great Egret in flight

Great Egret in flight

Great Egret in flight

Great Egret in flight

Great Egret

Great Egret

DSC_8313

Great Egret in the rain

This is number 21 in my photo life list, only 329 to go!

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

6 responses

  1. Nothing wrong with those pictures. I’ve never seen this bird, even though I lived in Florida for a while.

    February 6, 2013 at 2:53 pm

    • Thanks, they’re not bad, I would have liked to have gotten closer. But I always want to get closer. 🙂

      February 6, 2013 at 3:03 pm

  2. One of my most favorite birds. Thank you for sharing your little visit with this beauty.

    February 6, 2013 at 10:00 pm

    • Thank you, I should have dug some better photos up for this post, but I’ll get more.

      February 7, 2013 at 2:17 am

  3. Another graceful beauty you’ve captured, Jerry! I love this one too, they are very photogenic.

    February 6, 2013 at 10:46 pm

    • Thank you, they are one of my favorites as well.

      February 7, 2013 at 2:22 am