My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

If you seek inspiration, step outside!

I have a bunch of photos from the last two weeks sitting around in my computer looking for an excuse to be inserted into a post here. So, this morning I read a post from Allen Norcross who does the New Hampshire Garden Solutions blog, it was of some of his recent photos, and suddenly, the inspiration for this post on inspiration hit me! His post was on the beauty of nature, and that is certainly true, so who needs a common thread to pull a post together?

OK, I’ll admit that on days when it looks like this outside…

Fogged in

Fogged in

…that my photo output for the day goes down, but give me even a little sunshine and a critter….

Fox squirrel

Fox squirrel

..or two…

Fox squirrel

Fox squirrel

…or bird…

Blue jay surprised t see me

Blue jay surprised to see me

…and it’s not hard to see how I end up shooting so many photos per day.

But, part of the reason that I shoot so many photos is that I am always in search of The perfect photo of everything that there is to photograph in nature.

For example, I have already done a post on northern cardinals for my photo life list project, but that doesn’t stop me from shooting still more photos of cardinals.

Female northern cardinal

Female northern cardinal

Female northern cardinal

Female northern cardinal

Female northern cardinal

Female northern cardinal

Female northern cardinal

Female northern cardinal

Female northern cardinal

Female northern cardinal

None of these are perfect either, but they are better than some in the older post. I am going to go back to that post and delete a couple of the photos, and insert a couple of these latest ones that I think are better. Since I have inserted the photos in this post, you won’t have to go back to the northern cardinal post. (Gee, I’ll bet that I am lowering my blog stats doing that. 😉 )

I understand that not every one is into furry or feathered things to photograph, but there are far more things than critters for subjects to photograph while outside. For example, there are icicles…

Icicles, natures Christmas tree ornaments

Icicles, natures Christmas tree ornaments

…but, you may say big deal, icicles are very common. Oh yeah, what about icicles growing up rather than down?

Upside down icicle

Upside down icicle

I won't say what this looks like

I won’t say what this looks like

The base of the upside down icicle

The base of the upside down icicle

I found the inspiration for the logo for the Rolling Stones…

Tree's tongue

Tree’s tongue

…and a giant albino bunny…

Albino bunny with floppy ears

Albino bunny with floppy ears

…I even found the inspiration for the Bride of Frankenstein!

Sumac imitating the Bride of Frankenstein

Sumac imitating the Bride of Frankenstein

I learned some important things today as well, such as the bright white of freshly fallen snow makes a great reflector to illuminate the undersides of birds in flight!

Cooper's hawk in flight

Cooper’s hawk in flight

See, almost no shadows! Oh, and speaking of shadows, check these two out!

Shadowed illusions

Shadowed illusions

Shadowed illusions

Shadowed illusions

And finally, there’s this one.

Circles

Circles

I’m not sure what to say about that last one, other than I love it! I am quite proud of myself, it almost makes up for some of the crappy pictures I post. 😉

So if you need something to inspire your creative juices when it comes to photography, I usually find it just outside my door, you may find the same thing.

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

wordpress_logo_post_whenever2

8 responses

  1. Northern Narratives

    I like the fence shadows.

    February 10, 2013 at 3:39 pm

    • Thank you, I was hoping some one would like it.

      February 10, 2013 at 8:41 pm

  2. I had to laugh at this one-especially the bride of Frankenstien. I’m still laughing. I love the squirrel with the nut! Thanks for the plug!

    February 10, 2013 at 7:04 pm

    • Thanks, I thought that you would enjoy it.

      February 10, 2013 at 7:06 pm

  3. Such great photos you have in this post, wonderful that you decided to share them. The Fox Squirrel is too cute with his nut, and I really like shadowed illusions.

    February 10, 2013 at 9:56 pm

    • Thanks Emily!

      February 10, 2013 at 11:50 pm

  4. Love that last shot too Jerry, nice!

    February 20, 2013 at 9:38 pm

    • Thanks Donna.

      February 21, 2013 at 2:11 am