My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

White-crowned Sparrow, Zonotrichia leucophrys

Note: this post, while published, is a work in progress, as are all posts in this series, My Photo Life List. My goal is to photograph every species of bird that is seen on a regular basis here in Michigan, working from a list compiled by the Michigan chapter of the Audubon Society. This will be a lifelong project, that I began in January of 2013, and as I shoot better photos of this, or any other species, I will update the post for that species with better photos when I can. While this series is not intended to be a field guide per se, my minimum standard for the photos in this series is that one has to be able to make a positive identification of the species in my photos. The information posted here is from either my observations or the Wikipedia, the online free encyclopedia, however, I have personally shot all the photos appearing in this series.

White-crowned Sparrow, Zonotrichia leucophrys

The white-crowned sparrow is a medium-sized sparrow native to North America.

These birds forage on the ground or in low vegetation, but sometimes make short flights to catch flying insects. They mainly eat seeds, other plant parts and insects. In winter, they often forage in flocks.

White-crowned Sparrows nest either low in bushes or on the ground under shrubs and lay 3–5 brown-marked grey or greenish-blue eggs.

The White-crowned Sparrow is known for its natural alertness mechanism, which allows it to stay awake for up to two weeks during migration. This effect has been studied for possible human applications, such as shift-work drowsiness or truck driving.

On to my photos:

White-crowned Sparrows

White-crowned Sparrows

White-crowned Sparrows

White-crowned Sparrows

White-crowned Sparrow

White-crowned Sparrow

White-crowned Sparrow

White-crowned Sparrow

White crowned sparrow

White crowned sparrow

White crowned sparrow

White crowned sparrow

White crowned sparrow

White crowned sparrow

White crowned sparrow

White crowned sparrow

 

This is number 52 in my photo life list, only 298 to go!

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

wordpress_logo_post_whenever2

5 responses

  1. A handsome bird that’s always fun to see!

    March 11, 2013 at 2:16 pm

  2. Very cool photos! I haven’t seen one of those in quite some time.

    March 11, 2013 at 6:40 pm

    • Thanks, I have better photos of them hidden away somewhere safe, where I can’t find them.

      March 12, 2013 at 1:07 am

  3. These are so adorable ! I’ve yet to see one. WOW, 52 already? Hard to imagine how quickly you’re posting these.

    March 11, 2013 at 9:52 pm

    • Thanks, I still have about a week’s worth of posts saved as drafts, and a few folders of photos left. I’m hoping to be able to get to the next big milestone, 88 of them started, as that will be 1/4 of the list. Then, things will slow down, a lot!

      March 12, 2013 at 1:05 am