My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Common Goldeneye, Bucephala clangula

Note: this post, while published, is a work in progress, as are all posts in this series, My Photo Life List. My goal is to photograph every species of bird that is seen on a regular basis here in Michigan, working from a list compiled by the Michigan chapter of the Audubon Society. This will be a lifelong project, that I began in January of 2013, and as I shoot better photos of this, or any other species, I will update the post for that species with better photos when I can. While this series is not intended to be a field guide per se, my minimum standard for the photos in this series is that one has to be able to make a positive identification of the species in my photos. The information posted here is from either my observations or the Wikipedia, the online free encyclopedia, however, I have personally shot all the photos appearing in this series.

Common Goldeneye, Bucephala clangula

Goldeneye and Whistler, are common names for a species of small tree-hole nesting northern hemisphere sea ducks belonging to the genus Bucephala. The plumage is black and white. Goldeneyes eat fish, crustaceans and other marine life. The “Whistler” name comes from the noise their beating wings make in flight.

On to my photos:

Male Common Goldeneye

Male Common Goldeneye

Male Common Goldeneye

Male Common Goldeneye

Common Goldeneye ducks in flight

Common Goldeneye ducks in flight

Common Goldeneye ducks in flight

Common Goldeneye ducks in flight

Male Common Goldeneye

Male Common Goldeneye

Male Common Goldeneye

Male Common Goldeneye

Male Common Goldeneye

Male Common Goldeneye

Male Common Goldeneyes

Male Common Goldeneyes

Male Common Goldeneyes in flight

Male Common Goldeneyes in flight

Updated, January 16, 2014.

Male common goldeneye

Male common goldeneye

Male common goldeneye

Male common goldeneye

Male common goldeneye

Male common goldeneye

 

This is number 69 in my photo life list, only 281 to go!

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

wordpress_logo_post_whenever2

10 responses

  1. That eye and the white dot on their cheek make these birds real easy to identify, and also make me sure I’ve never seen one.

    March 28, 2013 at 7:39 am

    • You’d be surprised, there are a few species of ducks with just a splash of white on their heads, and remembering which is which is tougher than you may think. I’ll have to post a few species of birds that I’m sure that you’ve seen.

      March 28, 2013 at 9:43 am

  2. I wonder how they got their name.

    March 28, 2013 at 12:23 pm

    • Beats me.

      March 28, 2013 at 1:13 pm

  3. Huh..never heard of them being called Whistlers. Very cool.

    March 28, 2013 at 8:08 pm

    • Thanks! Whistlers is a very old slang term used for them by old hunters, I haven’t heard them called that in decades.

      March 29, 2013 at 1:21 am

  4. Really nice photos!

    March 30, 2013 at 11:38 pm

    • Thanks, I do get lucky every now and then.

      March 31, 2013 at 1:00 am

  5. Very handsome ducks!

    March 31, 2013 at 6:28 pm

    • Thanks, but my photos hardly do them justice.

      March 31, 2013 at 6:32 pm