My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

A timely death after a short illness

In my post from Saturday’s trip to Grand Haven, I noted that the shutter of my old Nikon D50 seemed to be developing an illness. I am happy to report that it has not suffered for long, as it died on Sunday. It will be given a proper burial on Thursday, exchanged for a new Sigma 150-500mm lens, as Sigma is offering $75 off the price of that lens as part of a “cash for clunkers” sales push. The Sigma will be mounted to the new Canon 60D that I will also be picking up on Thursday.

So, in honor of the late, not so great Nikon, here are a few of the last of the photos that it produced.

Ring billed gull too close

Ring billed gull too close

Female mallard too close

Female mallard too close

Female Red-breasted merganser

Female Red-breasted merganser

Female Red-breasted merganser

Female Red-breasted merganser

Male Red-breasted merganser

Male Red-breasted merganser

Male Red-breasted merganser

Male Red-breasted merganser

Male Red-breasted merganser

Male Red-breasted merganser

Male Red-breasted merganser

Red-breasted mergansers in flight

Male Red-breasted merganser

Red-breasted mergansers in flight

Male Red-breasted merganser

Male Red-breasted merganser

Female Red-breasted merganser

Female Red-breasted merganser

White winged scoter in flight

White winged scoter in flight

White winged scoters in flight

White winged scoters in flight

American goldfinch

American goldfinch

American goldfinch

American goldfinch

Pussy willows

Pussy willows

Red-breasted nuthatch

Red-breasted nuthatch

Red-breasted nuthatch

Red-breasted nuthatch

Red-breasted nuthatch

Red-breasted nuthatch

Red-breasted nuthatch

Red-breasted nuthatch

I have had a love hate relationship with the Nikon, I can’t say that I am sad to see it go. However, it did decide to kick off at an opportune time. I was toying with the idea of purchasing the Sigma lens with a Nikon mount, I am glad that I didn’t. I know that the purchase of the Canon/Sigma camera lens combo sort of contradicts what I wrote in my post about buying on a budget, but that’s the most affordable solution for what I typically photograph in the way that I shoot.

One last photo from the Nikon, what I think is the best photo it has ever produced as far as sharpness and color rendition.

Dragonfly on mountain ash berries

Dragonfly on mountain ash berries

From now on, I’ll have no excuse for crappy photos, other than my own lack of ability. 😉

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

27 responses

  1. What a lovely memorial!

    April 3, 2013 at 12:59 pm

    • Thank you! I want to take a photo of it in repose with flowers, but not even the crocus are open here yet.

      April 3, 2013 at 1:09 pm

  2. It looks as it served you very well indeed. The photos are nice

    April 3, 2013 at 1:43 pm

    • Thank you, if you only knew.

      April 3, 2013 at 10:39 pm

  3. Beautiful photos…

    April 3, 2013 at 3:18 pm

    • Thank you, it did it’s best just before it croaked.

      April 3, 2013 at 10:39 pm

  4. It seems like your Nikon gave you one last hurrah before leaving this world. I’m sure you’ll miss it greatly, but know you’ll really enjoy your new kit. Can’t wait to see what you capture with it.

    April 3, 2013 at 5:54 pm

    • Thanks, but I’m not going to miss it at all. It’s been a royal pain at times, and I can’t wait to look through a veiw finder larger than a dime.

      April 3, 2013 at 10:42 pm

  5. I look forward to some good photos after all the terrible ones we have been looking at and thinking that they were pretty good.

    April 3, 2013 at 6:12 pm

    • Thanks, it will be nice not to offend people’s eyes with the garbage I have been posting. 😉

      April 3, 2013 at 10:47 pm

  6. Too bad the Nikon couldn’t have been a second camera. I thought it took excellent photos.

    April 3, 2013 at 7:24 pm

    • I had thought about keeping it when I upgraded, and using it while kayaking. But, since it’s dead, I’ll use my Powershot instead. The Nikon was never quite right, made worse by the really cheap lens I bought, but it did surprise me from time to time.

      April 3, 2013 at 10:50 pm

  7. RIP

    April 3, 2013 at 8:31 pm

    • Thanks you, my thought exactly.

      April 3, 2013 at 10:50 pm

  8. Love the dragon fly, great photo.

    April 3, 2013 at 11:01 pm

    • Thank you, I think that’s the best photo that my camera, lens, and I were able to produce.

      April 4, 2013 at 1:34 am

  9. Love or hate, I must say I love the pictures it produced. I supposed the camera is only good because of you. Wonderful pictures.

    April 4, 2013 at 1:17 am

    • LOL, I did a post a few weeks ago about how most people credit the camera for fine photos, not the photographer commanding the camera. I fought the Nikon tooth and nail for years to get the photos that I have been posting recently, it shouldn’t have been that hard. Than you!

      April 4, 2013 at 1:36 am

  10. Kim

    Congrats on the new equipment — can’t wait to see what you produce with it!

    April 5, 2013 at 11:11 am

    • Thanks Kim!

      April 5, 2013 at 1:51 pm

  11. Pingback: The Canon and cannon, first impressions | Quiet Solo Pursuits

  12. I’ve been trying to find the post you did about choosing lenses without success. I’m wanting to buy my first prime lens and having trouble deciding between the Canon 50mm 1.8 and the 1.4 (whether it’s actually worth the additional expense. I’ve read a lot of reviews, but they just seem to muddle the issue since they tend to be pretty contradictory.

    April 9, 2013 at 4:09 am

    • Here’s the link to the post you were looking for.

      https://quietsolopursuits.wordpress.com/2013/03/21/buying-camera-gear-on-a-budget-advice-from-a-non-expert/

      Online reviews are tricky as they do tend to be contradictory, and you never know if the person writing it knows what they are talking about.

      Maybe I shouldn’t say this, but a quick look at both of the lenses you’re interested in tells me that I wouldn’t take a chance on either of them, but I have little use for a lens that length. I know nothing about you, or your budget though, other than from your blog. If I was looking for a prime lens of around that focal length, I would go with the EF 85mm f/1.8 USM. It would do well for many landscape shots, be a much better portrait lens if you photograph people or pets, and is better quality than either of the 50 mm you mentioned.

      April 9, 2013 at 9:22 am

      • As you noted, I do mostly landscape. I rarely do any people shots other than the ones that happen in the landscapes and provide scale. I do like the occasional critter or bird, but for now I’m using my kit 55-250 for that. Hope to get something with better reach someday.

        I think what I was looking for was to get back to something like my trusty Pentax in the pre-digital days. That was a 50 mm 1:2 and gave some beautiful shots back in the old days.

        Would you be willing to answer some questions I have by way of email? Contact me through my about/contact page?

        April 9, 2013 at 3:26 pm

      • I will try to help you out, I’ll shoot you an Email when I get home from work. I’m on lunch right now.

        April 9, 2013 at 10:20 pm

  13. Well, it took some great shots with its last, gasping breaths. Love the ones of the red-breasted nuthatch. One of my favorite birds. I have one that will almost eat out of my hand, but it flits away so quickly, I’ve only manged one slightly blurry picture out my front window.

    April 11, 2013 at 2:16 pm

    • Thank you. That’s often the way things work, the Nikon took it’s best shots in the last month of its life.

      April 11, 2013 at 2:27 pm