My adventures in the woods, streams, rivers, fields, and lakes of Michigan

Fox Sparrow, Passerella iliaca

Note: this post, while published, is a work in progress, as are all posts in this series, My Photo Life List. My goal is to photograph every species of bird that is seen on a regular basis here in Michigan, working from a list compiled by the Michigan chapter of the Audubon Society. This will be a lifelong project, that I began in January of 2013, and as I shoot better photos of this, or any other species, I will update the post for that species with better photos when I can. While this series is not intended to be a field guide per se, my minimum standard for the photos in this series is that one has to be able to make a positive identification of the species in my photos. The information posted here is from either my observations or the Wikipedia, the online free encyclopedia, however, I have personally shot all the photos appearing in this series.

Fox Sparrow, Passerella iliaca

Adults are amongst the largest sparrows, heavily spotted and streaked underneath. All feature a messy central breast spot though it is less noticeable on the thick billed and slate-colored varieties.

These birds forage by scratching the ground, which makes them vulnerable to cats and other predators, though they are generally plentiful. Fox sparrows birds migrate on the west coast of the United States.

They mainly eat seeds and insects, as well as some berries. Coastal fox sparrows may also eat crustaceans.

Fox sparrows nest in wooded areas across northern Canada and the west coast of North America from Alaska to California. They nest either in a sheltered location on the ground or low in trees or shrubs. Nest typically contains two to five pale green to greenish white eggs speckled with reddish browns.

On to my photos:

Fox sparrow

Fox sparrow

Fox sparrow

Fox sparrow

Fox sparrow

Fox sparrow

This is number 79 in my photo life list, only 271 to go!

That’s it for this one, thanks for stopping by!

wordpress_logo_post_whenever2

3 responses

  1. Pingback: There were birds everywhere! Other things too Day 4 | Quiet Solo Pursuits

  2. I love Fox Sparrows. I’ve seen one, twice briefly and that’s it. I hope I see one again one day.

    April 12, 2013 at 8:40 pm

    • I didn’t know what it was at first, it was so red compared to other sparrows that I knew I had to go for a photo, even though there was a pileated in the area at the time.

      April 13, 2013 at 2:13 am